Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What gas milage do you get with your Futura?

apriliaforum newb

What gas milage do you get with your Futura?

I'm riding a little Harley Sportster right now and thinking of moving up to a bigger bike, a Futura, Ducati ST, mabey even an FJR. My little bike gets 50+ mpg which is great but it's just too small(I'm 6'2) and is really winding out around 70mph. I've read Futuras get TERRIBLE milage so I was wondering if this has improved over the years. One more thing, if I bought one this would be my second bike. I've been riding for 6 months( probably wont be another 6 before I buy a new bike anyway) so would a big sport tourer be too much for a 17 year old to handle? I'm looking at a comfortable bike to ride to school/work every day on, not some road rocket. Thanks

apriliaforum Junkie
    I like fishing.

Whadayathink

The RST is beautiful, exotic, fast, dependable and drinks fuel like it's water in the desert. This bike will hit 150 mph. You can't do that with a moped.

This bike is awesome and you would love to ride it. However if you are wanting fuel economy this is not the bike for you.

Bob

"Although all men are born free, slavery has been the general lot of the human race. Ignorant - they have been cheated; asleep - they have been surprised; divided - the yoke has been forced upon them. But what is the lesson? ...the people ought to be enlightened, to be awakened, to be united, that after establishing a govenment they should watch over it.... It is universally admitted that a well-instructed people alone can be permanently free."
    --James Madison

First off you need to do a search our we will let Baddy beat the !s@!t out of you.
    So to save us all alot of time here it is.....
    http://www.apriliaforum.com/forums/s...ra+gas+mileage

2001 Futura: 41mpg commuting, 48mpg hiway
    2003 HD Wide Glide: 45mpg commuting, 52 hiway

For me similar range, both are fun in there own way.