Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: flashing efi light

  1. #1
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    east yorkshire
    Posts
    125

    flashing efi light

    the EFI light on bike is flashing on for a short period of time (5-10 seconds) the bike losses power, it then goes off and the bike is fine again, it has happened 3 times now, usually after a nice long 2 mile bumpy fast road i go down, i have checked the wires (with my very limited technical ability) and all other bits and bobs, carnt see anything out of place, however ive got it booked into the dealers, can you lot tell me what the possible problems are as the dealer could tell me anything and id be none the wiser (hate being ripped off) thanks .. neil

  2. #2
    apriliaforum expert
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bonnie Scotland
    Posts
    3,130
    ear we go ......... pick from the following

    ask the diagnostics, tho I think it only shows the fault code whilst the fault is on. (dunno)

    Anything in the ign circuit - Spark plug/ Plug lead / coil wiring on any of the 4 plugs is favourite

    side stand switch could be faulty, carry a scotchlock to bridge it with should it fail. This fault however cuts the bike out rather than losing power.

    Losing power but continuing to run is probably dropping to 3 plugs working. Why is another matter.

  3. #3
    apriliaforum expert cavender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    4,025
    I had something similar but mine stuck on and would not start. When I'd turn the bike on the EFI light was flashing. I eventually found that after taking my kill switch apart and putting it back together all has been fine ever since. I saw no indications of anything, but no doubt it was the culprit. Something else to consider.

  4. #4
    apriliaforum expert VikNWill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Lehigh Valley, Pee Yay
    Posts
    1,277
    Check fettuccini adapter (brown connector on left side of motor just below oil fill) for heat damage and battery terminals for "snugness."


    Will
    "It ain't eazy bein' cheesy!"

  5. #5
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    15,042
    Connect the two test wires together and read the error code on the clock display.
    That should narrow it down for you.
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  6. #6
    apriliaforum expert bullit in head's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Derbyshire England
    Posts
    921
    had a similar problem myself a couple of months ago , took two months to sort by the dealer, (intermitant type fault)( and I wouldnt take it back till it was fixed)
    turned out to be the fuel pump or fuel pump relay( dont know which they replaced both) and its been fine ever since


    bullit

  7. #7
    apriliaforum Member FLUFdriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Montgomery, Texas
    Posts
    245
    I had a similar problem twice this year.

    The first time it was the engine temp sensor: THREAD

    The second time was fixed with a new battery and the replacment of the brown connector to the regulator (must have been a voltage problem): THREAD

    I was not able to get a valid code from the diagnostics either time.


    Robert

    01' Flame Red RST: De-restricted, K&N air filter, 05 map, upgraded rectifier, metal QD, BEF semi-full system & plate relocator, BrakeTech Axis Cobra front rotors, shortened stock windscreen, Competition Werkes RC51 GP footpegs, Pirelli Angel ST's

    2009 Apple Red K1300GT

  8. #8
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    east yorkshire
    Posts
    125

    flashing efi

    never use the kill switch ever, plugged in the two wires read efi 1, i have seen this before, go on tell me what this means before the dealer charges me too find out, also does the futura store fault codes, my 2 mechanics were having an aeguement about it, one said yes the other said no... any help out there... thanks in advance... neil

  9. #9
    apriliaforum expert RPB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Netherlands aka Holland
    Posts
    1,030

    storing fault codes

    It would appear pretty lame to me if the ECU didn't store fault codes. The ECU on my Guzzi does and that ECU is of the type "early generation".

    I always use the killswitch btw, didn't harm any bike I've had including the Fut. Just an old habit...
    Rob - '01 Rosso Flame

    "Riders Create More Problems Than Motorcycles Are Designed To Handle" - Keith Code

  10. #10
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    15,042
    I always park the bike in gear to prevent it from rolling off the sidestand.
    Most of the time I use the sidestand as the switch and then turn off the key.
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  11. #11
    apriliaforum expert ib12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Tamworth UK
    Posts
    1,575
    I had a similar problem when I first had my Fut. It turned out to be an intermittent fault on the fuel relay, just needed a tap (fawcet for the US followers) he,he,he.... Changed the relay and evreythingwas fine.
    Brian

    [ZZR1400 190bhp, Baglux tank cover, 14.4v charging,ABS,TomTom GPS, double bubble, hugger, crash bungs, heated grips, permanant grin, fluffy dice ]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •