Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: TuneECU cable

  1. #1
    apriliaforum Junkie
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    KC, MO - USA
    Posts
    385

    TuneECU cable

    Hi all,

    Hoping someone here has better answers than the TuneECU group on fb:


    "Is the FTDI chipset MANDATORY? Seems I have purchased the wrong cable, it has ... CH304 (or 340)? Trying to connect to Aprilia Futura and no joy. I will purchase a cable with FTDI chip, but if TuneECU is using RS232 COM port, what difference does driver make?

    Oh, can I use ANY OBDII/USB cable with FTDI chip? Or it needs to be some specific cable with specific wiring mapping?"

    I swear I read the description before ordering this "KKL VAG-COM 409.1" Cable, but it definitely does not have the FTDI (FT232RL) chip. As mentioned, I have no problem ordering another cable, just seems odd it won't function at all with a different chip/driver. A bit concerned there is a different problem, and don't want another extended delay waiting for a cable only to find it was something else.

    Has anyone had success with a cable that uses something other than the FTDI chipset/ driver?

    Thanks!

    Gary

  2. #2
    apriliaforum expert RAS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    PA USA
    Posts
    8,396

  3. #3
    apriliaforum expert Motech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    3,157
    I have no problem using the HEXNET VAG-COM cable that came with my RossTech VAG-COM setup.
    No Matter Where You Are, There You Go!

  4. #4
    apriliaforum expert RAS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    PA USA
    Posts
    8,396
    That little gadget costs, what? heh, heh.

    Are you using it with their diagnostic software? it might be a Tune ECU thing.

  5. #5
    apriliaforum expert Motech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    3,157
    Quote Originally Posted by RAS View Post
    That little gadget costs, what? heh, heh.

    Are you using it with their diagnostic software? it might be a Tune ECU thing.
    I use it with theirs and TuneECU.



    Ya, a little pricey, but free to me when I began using TuneECU.
    No Matter Where You Are, There You Go!

Similar Threads

  1. Connectors to the TuneECU cable, how?
    By mikesbaron in forum ETV1000 CapoNord (2001-2007)
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 05-22-2015, 03:17 PM
  2. tuneecu + obd2 cable
    By fistach in forum 2006-2011 Aprilia RXV, SXV, MXV 4.5/5.5 V-Twins
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-06-2015, 08:34 AM
  3. Lonelec Cable - TUNE ECU - TUNEECU INTERFACE + APRILIA ADAPTOR (UK)
    By prilly1 in forum Aprilia Parts and Accessories for Sale / Wanted
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-19-2014, 03:03 AM
  4. 6-pin Molex connectors available for TuneEcu cable
    By anssi in forum RST1000 Futura (all years)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-18-2012, 02:47 AM
  5. throttle cable rub
    By oneducs in forum RSV1000 Mille, Mille R, and Mille SP (1998-2003)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-14-2003, 06:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •