Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sxv road racer

apriliaforum prov-nov

Sxv road racer

https://www.apriliaforum.com/forums/...R-Kit-9500-OBO

It appears I am the soon-to-be new owner of this bike. Iím currently awaiting delivery and I canít wait! I have drooled over the RRV and road race conversions on this forum and others for the last 2-3 years. This bike popped up on wera forum, and the seller has been great, I just couldnít pass it up.

To be honest I am just learning about the issues with engine/coolant temperature from some old posts from the original owner just prior to the first sale. I hope this isnít a sign of a bigger issue. The bike has suffered a low-speed low side between the original sale and now, but otherwise was advertised as running without problems. Like I said, the previous owner has been great with communication. If the bike/engine needs some regular TLC, Iím OK with that.

Searching and reading the forums have been useful in getting ideas on replacing the rashed bodywork. Iím handy with a TIG if new mounts need to be added.

So, I am looking for some input on tires. It appears the original Dunlop slicks are still on the bike. I donít believe I run fast enough to keep heat in the tires. I am looking to switch to another trackday oriented tire for my slo-ass but am having issues finding a rear in 160 that fits a 5.5 rear rim. I would rather not go 180 as it seems to defeat the purpose of this lightweight bike.

Also Iíd like to know if there are any changes you would make now that the bike is no longer confined to racing regulations. For down the line...

Otherwise, I plan on riding this bike until my skill set improves. Trackdays, no racing in my future. Maybe change the MC to something smaller, though.