Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 32

Thread: Alternative speed sensor?

  1. #1
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    97

    Alternative speed sensor?

    Does anyone know of an alternative speed sensor - obviously exactly the same just less than £150?

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    apriliaforum expert ytc1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    2,954
    Quote Originally Posted by mudhog View Post
    Does anyone know of an alternative speed sensor - obviously exactly the same just less than £150?

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk
    If you can get one for £150, grab it

    Sent from my Moto G (5S) using Tapatalk
    A square Peg in a round hole - http://ytc1.blogspot.co.uk/

  3. #3
    apriliaforum expert dobbi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    shropshire UK
    Posts
    2,585
    is this the internally mounted gearbox part sitting not far above the gear shift?
    “If it looks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, we have at least to consider the possibility that we have a small aquatic bird of the family anatidae on our hands.” Douglas Adams

  4. #4
    apriliaforum expert ytc1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    2,954
    Quote Originally Posted by dobbi View Post
    is this the internally mounted gearbox part sitting not far above the gear shift?
    Ah , I misread it and thought he meant a dash

    Sent from my Moto G (5S) using Tapatalk
    A square Peg in a round hole - http://ytc1.blogspot.co.uk/

  5. #5
    apriliaforum expert fedro69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    852

    “The road goes ever on and on, down from the door where it began,
    now far ahead the road had gone, and I must follow if I can.”

  6. #6
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by fedro69 View Post
    Yes that looks like the right part, have you fitted one of these? cheers

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by ytc1 View Post
    Ah , I misread it and thought he meant a dash

    Sent from my Moto G (5S) using Tapatalk
    Bruce send me your address and I will get the clocks back to you!

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    apriliaforum expert dobbi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    shropshire UK
    Posts
    2,585
    I've had mine off in a jiffy, just a small screw and a bit of a wobble. a bit difficult to get at though. Are you sure it is at fault? what is the problem? Dash will come up with faults all the time, especially if you drop the bike. There is a diagnostic test on the Yam 660 tenere manual, just turning the wheel and measuring resistance without removing it.

    Also, are you coming to the peg ride out as it is in your neck of the woods?
    “If it looks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, we have at least to consider the possibility that we have a small aquatic bird of the family anatidae on our hands.” Douglas Adams

  9. #9
    apriliaforum expert ytc1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St Helens, UK
    Posts
    2,954
    Quote Originally Posted by mudhog View Post
    Bruce send me your address and I will get the clocks back to you!

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk
    Done

    Sent from my Moto G (5S) using Tapatalk
    A square Peg in a round hole - http://ytc1.blogspot.co.uk/

  10. #10
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    97
    Hi Dobbi - I still haven't had the bike running since the start of last year!
    To be fair though I didn't bother with it until I sold the Ducati last month.
    Still got error 33 on the dash.
    The speed sensor was reading 4.8 to 0.06v spec puts it at 4.8 to 0.6
    Now just tested it and only 0.02v so as next in line to the turn over sensor I need to eliminate it.
    If the bike is running I will be there Saturday

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk

  11. #11
    apriliaforum expert dobbi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    shropshire UK
    Posts
    2,585
    If you spin the wheel, can you get a sensible reading on the dash? I guess this is the ultimate sniff test. error sensors can be real buggers because the 5v line which supplies the sensors often seems to bring up the wrong sensor. turn over sensor is a favourite. My tps was buggered but it said turn over sensor, even when it was well within tolerance. nice and easy to get to, even still.

    speed sensor - might be worth pulling it off and giving it a quick clean. as it sits in the oil, it might be little use which is giving the super low reading? might just need a run to get rid of condensation in the gearbox. will it run if safety interlocks are switched off?
    “If it looks like a duck, and quacks like a duck, we have at least to consider the possibility that we have a small aquatic bird of the family anatidae on our hands.” Douglas Adams

  12. #12
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    97
    Speed sensor is off the bike now and clean.
    The bike will not start in any shape or form. Turns over
    Good coil
    All connectors are good
    I have checked the wiring half a dozen times.
    Swapped out TPS, turnover sensor, crank position sensor.
    Followed the Yamaha book
    Followed the Aprilia book
    Sent the clocks off for testing and all good.

    Some how I have managed not to thrash the thing with birch twigs, but it's not far away

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk

  13. #13
    apriliaforum expert fedro69's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Hamburg
    Posts
    852
    Same identical engine like Yamahas 660 (Xt-X/R/Z and Onecylindric MT 03) from 2004 till ... now?
    from Minarelli,
    so that all what is in/on the engine
    SAS unit, Speed and gear sensor, MAP sensor ... even the throttlebody!
    is to find by Yamaha often for a fraction of the aprilia price

    “The road goes ever on and on, down from the door where it began,
    now far ahead the road had gone, and I must follow if I can.”

  14. #14
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by dobbi View Post
    If you spin the wheel, can you get a sensible reading on the dash? I guess this is the ultimate sniff test. error sensors can be real buggers because the 5v line which supplies the sensors often seems to bring up the wrong sensor. turn over sensor is a favourite. My tps was buggered but it said turn over sensor, even when it was well within tolerance. nice and easy to get to, even still.

    speed sensor - might be worth pulling it off and giving it a quick clean. as it sits in the oil, it might be little use which is giving the super low reading? might just need a run to get rid of condensation in the gearbox. will it run if safety interlocks are switched off?
    Speed sensor is reading zero on the dash when I spin the back wheel.

    But bizarrely in the ecu parameters mode the main relay is clicking away.

    ECU actuation mode the relay continues to click
    Then select coil and switching engine switch to stop then run the message will not change????
    Actuations work on all other options
    Injector
    Ais solenoid
    Main relay
    Fan relay
    Head light relay

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk

  15. #15
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    97
    Quote Originally Posted by mudhog View Post
    Speed sensor is reading zero on the dash when I spin the back wheel.

    But bizarrely in the ecu parameters mode the main relay is clicking away.

    ECU actuation mode the relay continues to click
    Then select coil and switching engine switch to stop then run the message will not change????
    Actuations work on all other options
    Injector
    Ais solenoid
    Main relay
    Fan relay
    Head light relay

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk
    Tank is off at the moment if that makes any difference

    Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Speed sensor any alternative ?
    By Ario in forum RSV Tuono, Tuono R, Tuono Racing, and Tuono Factory (2002-2005)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-07-2017, 03:27 AM
  2. Speed Sensor
    By Little Merv in forum RSV Tuono, Tuono R, Tuono Racing, and Tuono Factory (2002-2005)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-16-2004, 03:52 AM
  3. Speed Sensor Question
    By angrybob in forum RSV1000 Mille, Mille R, and Mille SP (1998-2003)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-24-2003, 12:43 AM
  4. looking for the right speed sensor wire
    By Dood in forum RSV1000 Mille, Mille R, and Mille SP (1998-2003)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-16-2003, 11:23 AM
  5. DiTech- Speed Sensor?
    By Aldo Steptoe in forum Scarabeo 50, SR50, Mojito 50, Rally, Fly 50
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-07-2003, 03:57 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •