Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Low Compression - Scarabeo Ditech

apriliaforum newb

Low Compression - Scarabeo Ditech

2005 Scarabeo Ditech was running perfectly. Went to start it after a long ride the previous day and it started, ran rough for a couple seconds then died. Started a couple more times with the same result. I did a leak check (soapy water) around the air injector, air compressor and motor but didn't find anything. I proceeded to run a compression test. Result was low, 60psi, so I bought a set of rings/head & base gasket. After installing the new hardware, I reran the test which yielded the same results. Curious what to do from here. I'm a newbie when it comes to motors so I'm not sure if the piston needs to be replaced or the cylinder needs to get honed, please see photos... If the cylinder gets honed would replacement rings still generate a full seal?

Thanks!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cylinder 2.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	483.0 KB 
ID:	365208  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cylinder 1.jpg 
Views:	20 
Size:	510.1 KB 
ID:	365209  

Name:	Piston 2.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	501.9 KB 
ID:	365210  

Name:	Piston 1.jpg 
Views:	16 
Size:	494.7 KB 
ID:	365211  

The Anal Intruder William the Third's Avatar
    The cylinder looks ok, not great, but ok, but then it's really hard to tell from the photos. It's kind of one of those things you need to see in person unless it's blindingly obviously damaged. The cylinder is cast aluminum and nikasil (or similar) plated, so there are limits to what you can do to it.

The piston looks bad. Lots of blow-by passed the rings. Speaking of rings, where are they in the picture? There is also some damage at the bottom of the piston skirt, that makes me wonder if there is matching damage to the cylinder walls.
    #1 Forum Loser

1973 Harley-Davidson Aermacchi Z-90 - Restoration project
    1983 Kawasaki KZ750 Spectre - Fathers old bike