Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Coolant Leak

apriliaforum prov-nov

Angry Coolant Leak

Hi, everyone!

I just bought my 2003 AA500 second hand with only 110 miles on it. Since I got it I've ridden less than 100 additional miles and just today convinced my wife to take a ride with me!

So, after taking her to do a bit of shopping, we returned to the scooter to find the coolant leaking out of the small hold in the engine case near the water pump! It had leaked quite a bit. I was able to add more water and limp home just fine, but it's still leaking! The chincy tool kit included under the seat does NOT have an allen wrench to remove the cover to get to the coolant fill tube! I had to go buy a tool kit, etc., to get to the filler tube.

I've read a lot of your posts and haven't seen any problems with coolant leaks! Have I just missed them or is this just an unusual problem?

I have a lot of experience with car repairs and have replaced water pumps. The tell tale sign is when coolant starts leaking from the 'weep' hole, which is there to allow just a tiny bit of coolant into the bearing around the water pump shaft to keep it expanded and water tight. So, the weep hole allows the excess coolant out, but VERY little is lost!

The leak in my AA500 is dripping many drops per second and definitely NOT normal!

Had anyone had a water pump problem?

Am I totally off base here and maybe there is supposed to be some sort of 'plug' in the hole that somehow popped out?

Please help!

Thanks,
    Lou

apriliaforum Member Tractor Dude's Avatar
    Sorry Lou - no problems with the coolant/water pump as you have experienced. Sounds a little weird but a warranty trip to the dealer should cure it. You HAVE called the dealer to transfer the warranty to your name, right?

apriliaforum Member Tractor Dude's Avatar
    PS - amen on the "quality " tool kit. Recommend all owners invest in a handful of metric allen sockets, wrenches & bolt/nut sockets---TD

apriliaforum prov-nov