Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Fault code cable conected. BIKE started !!!

  1. #1
    apriliaforum newb
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1

    Fault code cable conected. BIKE started !!!

    What can go wrong. Do not start or attempt to start the bike.
    The two unconnected wires was connected when i bought my bike. The engine run only on idle speed and the LCD message appear with DIAG.

  2. #2
    apriliaforum expert Scotteq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Dunellen, NJ, USA
    Posts
    696
    The "DIAG" message indicates the bike is in diagnostic mode, which makes perfect sense since the wires are connected. The right hand display will show an error code, if there is one. Otherwise it defaults to showing the status of the Throttle Position Sensor with a 1, 0 or -1. 0 is correctly adjusted.

    Disconnect the wires and the guages will return to normal.

    Scott
    Horsepower is an Illusory Equation. TORQUE is real and is the source of all things good!

    ****************

    It is one of the essential features of incompetence that the person so afflicted is incapable of knowing that he is incompetent. To have such knowledge would already be to remedy a good portion of the offense.

  3. #3
    apriliaforum expert Scotteq's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Dunellen, NJ, USA
    Posts
    696
    Thanks for the eMail - Code 14 is for the intake pressure sensors, and not running unless idling or above 3500 RPM is a problem. Take the bike to a dealer/shop for repair.

    Scott
    Horsepower is an Illusory Equation. TORQUE is real and is the source of all things good!

    ****************

    It is one of the essential features of incompetence that the person so afflicted is incapable of knowing that he is incompetent. To have such knowledge would already be to remedy a good portion of the offense.

  4. #4
    apriliaforum Member Redlion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Sussex, England
    Posts
    111
    I have the opposite problem, when the two wires are connected I do NOT get a diagnostics mode. Any thoughts.

Similar Threads

  1. strange fault code??
    By sinky in forum RSV1000 Mille, Mille R, and Mille SP (1998-2003)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-27-2007, 09:53 AM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-04-2006, 09:43 AM
  3. Cam shaft sensor fault code
    By ib12 in forum RST1000 Futura (all years)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-01-2006, 04:44 AM
  4. What would you buy????
    By Dj RsMassive in forum RS125 Euro-archive
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 04-26-2006, 07:50 AM
  5. anyone subscribe to ...
    By Camell0 in forum General Motorcycle Talk
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-28-2005, 10:05 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •