Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 133

Thread: do i need race ecu or not?

  1. #1
    apriliaforum Junkie
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    270

    do i need race ecu or not?

    i have 2010 rsv4 factory with austin slipon,do i need race ecu or not?riding with out harm my engine?

  2. #2
    apriliaforum expert Chris_Mag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    2,915
    Congrats. Post a pic of your bike. Nevermind... this is you?

    http://www.bikepics.com/members/kruc...66/09gsxr1000/


    The general consensus is "yes", you should run some sort of fuel controller, and the best place to start is with the RACE ecu/mapping because it changes the ride-by-wire logic and other aspects that a FI controller like the Bazzaz cannot.

    The largest issue w/ stock mapping when running a slip-on is that the lower-rpm partial throttle fueling is very lean. On mine, I saw 15:1 at ~5k RPM at about 15% throttle (cruising RPM and throttle).

    What you will trade in going to race mapping is more power, especially at middle revs and more direct throttle response in T mode in favor of more fuel consumption.
    CURRENT BIKE
    2013 Multistrada S Touring
    2004 Tuono Factory


  3. #3
    apriliaforum Junkie Quarantine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Bahrain/Milwaukee
    Posts
    408
    not this shit again
    1976 Honda CB550
    2005 Ducati Monster S4RS
    2009 Ducati 1198S
    2011 Aprilia RSV4 Factory
    2012 Moto Guzzi V7 Special

  4. #4
    apriliaforum expert Chris_Mag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon
    Posts
    2,915
    Quote Originally Posted by Quarantine View Post
    not this shit again
    Lol. I edited my post, just in case he's not trolling.
    CURRENT BIKE
    2013 Multistrada S Touring
    2004 Tuono Factory


  5. #5
    apriliaforum expert Eppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Westminster, MD
    Posts
    726
    This needs to be a sticky as it comes up EVERY week.
    Mark~
    2010 - RSV4 - Street
    2016 - Multistrada - Street
    2004 - GSX-R 750 - Track

  6. #6
    apriliaforum expert Phunky Phish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    645

    Bazzaz, PCv or Race ECU?

    I am looking at the fueling for my APRC SE and cannot decide the best way forward.

    Having read many posts I cannot see what advantage a Race ECU would have over a Bazzaz or PCv unit. I will spend some money on dyno time when its installed.

    Can anyone explain what extra do I get from the Race ECU that I dont with the Bazzaz or PCv unit?

    I could only manage reading through the first half a page of threads (and I mean reading the threads, not just the thread titles) before my brain went to mush, which to be honest, does not take much these days!!

    Cheers everyone.
    My mum used to say 'Be good. And if you can't be good, don't get caught!'
    My sponsor advert!

  7. #7
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    14,980
    This has been beaten to death and starting to look like someone is trolling.

    For the last time, hopefully:

    1- according to DynoJet USA, the PC5 does not work on the RSV4, don't believe commissions hungry sales people.
    2- the Bazzaz only adjusts fuel.
    3- the race mapped ECU optimizes fuel, ignition and ride-by-wire parms.

    Installing the Bazzaz without first loading the race map is not only a waste of money, but as already posted here previously, leads to trouble.

    Yes the Bazzaz does add speed shifter and TC capabilities.
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  8. #8
    apriliaforum expert Phunky Phish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    645
    Sorry, its not my intention to troll, but to make sense of all the information as there is LOADS!!
    If I buy the Bazzaz unit it will be from an RSV4 specialist tuning garage, with some dyno time so they will get it all set up for the bike properly.
    The PC5 is now avaliable for the RSV4 with a fueling module. AR have them and are doing a special on them inc dyno time also.
    I am interested in the Race ECU if it gives me anything better than just fueling modules. Does the map need proper dyno time also to set it up spot on for the bike, as well as the dealer setup for throttle learning.

    Thank you for moving and helping with your responce amauri. I understand most things on the bike, but some things I just want to make sure I make the best decision.
    My mum used to say 'Be good. And if you can't be good, don't get caught!'
    My sponsor advert!

  9. #9
    apriliaforum Junkie colacin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    413
    In addition to what Amauri said - the RSV4 has 3 modes and the bazzaz has 2 maps - so you either map both against one mode or one map against 2 of the modes. So you either lose 1 or 2 of the modes. This may or may not bother you. It is also difficult to install cleanly on a bike without a race fairing, from the 4 or 5 I've seen.

    If you're not going to be on the track (for the most part) I'd get the race ECU for a lot less hassle.
    2012 KTM 300EXC Six Days
    2011 KTM 690 Duke R
    2011 Aprilia RSV4 Factory APRC
    2008 Ducati Hypermotard 1100S
    2007 Honda CBR600RR

  10. #10
    apriliaforum expert Phunky Phish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    645
    Amuari, I bow to your knowledge as you have far more than me in this area!
    I have Q/S and TC with the APRC
    Re-reading the ECU de-restriction thread is making more sense, in that it does ignition as well as fueling which other units need additional modules to sort properly.
    So really the Race ECU is a better option that would allow a good tuning shop to properly set the bike up on a dyno for A/F ratios but also ignition timing so it is properly sorted.

    Again, thank you for helping with this beaten subject.

    Edit, does that mean the race ecu has the R, S & T maps on it also?
    My mum used to say 'Be good. And if you can't be good, don't get caught!'
    My sponsor advert!

  11. #11
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    14,980
    Quote Originally Posted by Phunky Phish View Post
    The PC5 is now avaliable for the RSV4 with a fueling module. AR have them and are doing a special on them inc dyno time also.
    The PC5 is made by Dyno Jet Research in Las Vegas Nevada USA, not AR in the UK.
    DJ has been doing developement work trying to solve the issues that prevent the PC5 from working properly on the RSV4, the R&D work is not complete and as of yet, DJ is not shipping the PC5 for the V4.

    The only person saying that the PC5 works on the V4 is AR.
    Remmember a few monthas ago when AR was trying to push people into installing 2-PC5s on the V4?
    Again, do not believe what a salesman is telling you, email DJ USA directly if you wish.

    The APRC is brand new, why do you want to let someone turn your bike into a test mule by beating it on a Dyno?
    If you encouter issues with the electronics or anytning like stalling, error codes, etc, etc... do you really expect Aprilia to warranty it after you modify it?

    Do not mess with it, isn't 180hp enough?
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  12. #12
    apriliaforum expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    1,308
    Quote Originally Posted by amauri View Post
    The PC5 is made by Dyno Jet Research in Las Vegas Nevada USA, not AR in the UK.
    DJ has been doing developement work trying to solve the issues that prevent the PC5 from working properly on the RSV4, the R&D work is not complete and as of yet, DJ is not shipping the PC5 for the V4.

    The only person saying that the PC5 works on the V4 is AR.
    Remmember a few monthas ago when AR was trying to push people into installing 2-PC5s on the V4?
    Again, do not believe what a salesman is telling you, email DJ USA directly if you wish.

    The APRC is brand new, why do you want to let someone turn your bike into a test mule by beating it on a Dyno?
    If you encouter issues with the electronics or anytning like stalling, error codes, etc, etc... do you really expect Aprilia to warranty it after you modify it?

    Do not mess with it, isn't 180hp enough?


    According to this the PC5 for the RSV4 is still "under development". AR does not have a PC5 that was purposly manufactured for the RSV4.

    http://www.powercommander.com/powerc...PartNum=10-001

  13. #13
    Max Lean Angle / Administrator Ed / AF1 Racing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    9,683
    Quote Originally Posted by Phunky Phish View Post
    Edit, does that mean the race ecu has the R, S & T maps on it also?
    Yes, they are different than the orginal stock three modes....see you owners manual for a description of the three stock maps.

    The Race ECU/ Race Mapping (same thing) has three maps R, S and T, all of which full power maps.

    The R map limits torque in the first three gears (recommended for less experienced riders in poor grip conditions). Full power all other gears.

    The S map is a “full power” map all gears, but with a softer throttle response.

    The T map is a “full power” map all gears with extremely direct throttle response (recommended for expert riders).

  14. #14
    apriliaforum expert Phunky Phish's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    645
    Amuari, calm down mate! I am just saying what I have seen and asking the question. That's why I originlly asked about the PCv and Bazzaz!

    Cheers Ed about the 3 maps. I like the idea of keeping the 3 maps.

    So does the race ecu need dyno time to sort the bike properly?

    Cheers
    My mum used to say 'Be good. And if you can't be good, don't get caught!'
    My sponsor advert!

  15. #15
    apriliaforum expert
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    1,308
    Quote Originally Posted by Phunky Phish View Post
    Amuari, calm down mate! I am just saying what I have seen and asking the question. That's why I originlly asked about the PCv and Bazzaz!

    Cheers Ed about the 3 maps. I like the idea of keeping the 3 maps.

    So does the race ecu need dyno time to sort the bike properly?

    Cheers
    No because you cant change any of the maps. Just swap ECU's and go about your day simple as that.

Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •