Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Blue Peg rebuild

Blue Peg rebuild

Hello all, first time posting after several years of lurking.

As with many of you, it has been almost 20 years since the last time I owned a motorcycle. Even so, my enthusiasm for them runs deep.

I started riding at 14 in the fields and trails of Southern New Jersey on a 1975 Yamaha DT125. It was my first bike and first true “dual sport”. After years of adventures, and more than a few epic failures on the DT, it was clear that my riding had taken a turn towards the more “sporting” end of the spectrum. This was not helped by the fact that I spent three summers in Southern Europe where I was exposed to, and participated in, the local motorcycle culture. For a kid from the American “suburban strip mall sprawl”, it was awesome. Naturally, I came back to the States addicted to the machinery, the style and ethos of the Europeans. I also returned with stacks of dog-eared motorcycle magazines from which I studied the intricacies of Grand Prix roadracing, Rally Raids, the Isle of Man TT and Joe Bar Team comics.

Of course, my little brother and I set out to emulate our motorcycling heros. My DT got the café racer treatment, complete with “clubman bars” made from inverting a set of old beach cruiser bicycle bars, and I was off to set fastest lap around the neighborhood.

Those were also the years of Ducati’s roadracing resurgence in AMA. Inspired, I went looking for my own bit of Italian exotica. Since I could never afford to buy Doug Polen’s 888 or import the Cagiva Freccia that I wanted with every fiber of my being, I bought a neglected mid-eighties Cagiva WMX125 motocross bike and we nursed it back to fighting form. It was our first exposure to Eraldo Ferracci and Italian price$. But it was pretty, rare, red and very fast. The DT was quickly relegated to the back of the shed.