Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Found my clutch's dirty butt

Found my clutch's dirty butt

This is just some photos I took of my last clutch fluid swap using my new brake bleeder and the RFI method (reverse fluid injection).

I'm not a mechanic and this is the first time I've even touched the clutch slave so the pictures are more for us non-technical type so we know where the black poo comes from.

The system I am using is the V-12 Brake Bleeder from Phoenix Systems http://www.brakebleeder.com/product.php?pid=2

It has just about every adapter you can think of for connecting to your brake system.

I had started off doing the front brakes. There is a handy elbow adapter that fits perfectly onto the nipple.

Old habits die hard so while I was squeezing the grip with one hand I would use the other hand to hold onto the elbow and "open" the line by using the elbow to turn the nipple. I'd maintain pressure by squeezing the grip on the V-12, open the line using the elbow, continue to squeeze until fluid starting showing up in the MC, then I would close the connection using the elbow, then let off the grip on the V-12 to reduce the risk of any reverse flow or air getting in. Probably not necessary but it's just habit

The tool has this handy magnetic clip to help keep the bottle from falling over while you work. Here I have it attached to my fork leg.

Now the clutch slave. I begin by cleaning out the fluid in the clutch's MC reservoir. Yes it was black and here is the towel after I cleaned out the soot left in the reservoir.

I connected to the clutch slave and began pumping clean fluid up from the nipple to the MC. The fluid kept turning black so went ahead and took the clutch slave off. Make SURE your clutch's MC stays full of fluid before you take the clutch slave off. The reason will become clear in a moment.