Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Play in rear wheel

apriliaforum newb

Play in rear wheel

I have on '02 Futura that just turned over 15K miles. Only about 500 of those are mine so I'm still lnw to the bike. I put the bike on the center stand to lube the chain and when spinning the wheel I noticed a bit of side to side play. Not a whole lot but enough that I felt it wasn't right. It looked as though the bolts that hold on the rotor had come loose as I could see a gap when I wiggled the wheel. However those seem to be as tight as they will go. I removed the wheel nut cap and retaining ring but I have no tools to tighten the contained nut.
    Anyone experienced this before or have any notion what is going on, how dangerous or benign it could be? I'm not a mechanic but I can follow directions if I have them.

Thanks

First off, download the service manual from Bob Davis FTP site here, if you dont have it already:

ftp://ftp.moderndiesystems.com/RST1000

From what you describe, seems like your wheel bearings need to be replaced. I have no experience in this matter, so I am sure someone with more knowledge will correct me & guide you in the right direction. Good luck.

I can't get anything to open in the thread. It comes up with all the documents but just wont open them

apriliaforum Member
    Is the wheel on the centering pins but loose? If so the wheel may not have been replaced or tourqued correctly when last removed.
    There may be some parts damaged that you may need to replace. Not a big deal but when the wheel goes on it needs to be done correctly.
    Trust the voice of experience, damn hack dealers.

P.S. start with this, it may be an inexpensive and easy repair instead of jumping to wheel bearings and axle replacement.

Quote Originally Posted by Shippers View Post
    I can't get anything to open in the thread. It comes up with all the documents but just wont open them