PDA

View Full Version : new owner. mind at ease

dave
09-02-2003, 04:14 AM
Gday people. I am new to apriliadom and just found this site and decided to say hello. My path into this after My wife and I decided to buy a new bike. My 93 R 100 GS PD was great and if it were not for the lack of wind protection I would still be happily riding it, but arthritis in the neck and elbows left me in pain after 5-600 Ks. so after much reading and looking we decided on a new R1150 GS. my dealer in Geelong australia had an 02 plated one in stock and were willing to deal. A bigger screen was available so we went to buy the new GS, great excitement first new bike ever in 32 years of riding.
On the day we went to do the deal we found this bunch of Guzzies and Aprilias at the dealer and a board where you could write your name to ride any of the models on offer by the manufacturer. Rode the Capo wife said best pilion seat in the classs. Till then had not riden the GS 1150, rode it , and rode the capo again, then the GS again. Shit! what to do now? Do I do the sensible thing and get the tryed and true BMW or go with this beautiful red thing with the ferral heart and dirty chain. sat in the dealers for about four hours trying to decide. Wife happy with either but prefered capo. Finally decided on the capo as importer had special deal on the day which included panniers and free on road costs. for same money as the BM without any extras. What the heck "you only live once "says"she how must be obeyed" so I obeyed. We have done 4000 Ks in four weeks and are very happy with it, it goes like the clappers. the fun factor is higher than the BM and the brakes commpared to the old GSPD are amazing. Any way I turned 50 today 2 sept. 03 and look forward to a long and happy relationship with my wife and new bike. buy!

Francois
09-02-2003, 05:16 AM
Congratulation on the big five O, enjoy the Capo.
Great bike!

Regards
Francois

RobC
09-02-2003, 05:48 AM