PDA

View Full Version : How do rearsets effect comfort on the road?

scott2ride
09-09-2005, 05:28 PM
Im considering getting rearsets, but am a little unsure as I have never used them before. I use my Factory 95% on the road, do 4-5 track days a year and a couple of tours.

One such yearly tour is 12 days of about 450-600km per day. So comfort is critical.

So my questions are...

1. How do rearsets effect the comfort of the bike?

2. Will they put more weight on my wrists or does it just make it more comfy to have the feet farther back?

3. How much better is it for back road scratching? (Which is primarily where my riding is).

4. Will it turn me into Rossi? (Cos Im sick of riding like Gibernau! :p: )

I have some adjustable bars on the bike now and have them in the raised position 85% of the time. Plus Im 5'10" and a 'solid' :D 89-91kg (ish) in street clothes.

Dr. Thrillride
09-09-2005, 09:35 PM
well, where do you want your feet/knees to be to make you more comfortable? We're about the same height and weight, but proportionally speaking, is your torso long and your legs short? or are you pretty average? My rearsets are adjusted backwards and up to get me forward on the bike for the track, which isn't going to help you on the street. But, it doesn't seem like my PP tuning rearsets go any lower than the stockers (I'll have a check see). There's a lot of adjustment in the PP Tuning rearsets and they're not that expensive.

amauri
09-10-2005, 12:02 AM
As I see it, there are two types of rear sets besides the originals.

The fancy, expensive and multiadjustable ones that are good for street use.
And the no frills, inexpensive, sometimes non-adjustable ones you see on race bikes.

If you want to experiment and find a comfy riding position, get the fancy ones.
If you want to go racing, get Woodcraft or PP Tuning.

scott2ride
09-12-2005, 07:47 PM
We're about the same height and weight, but proportionally speaking, is your torso long and your legs short?