PDA

View Full Version : shiver 900 tyre mileage

Cozman
06-12-2018, 12:32 PM
Hello all,

I just replaced the OEM tyres that came with my bike....Sport Max Qualifier, with Bridgestone Battlax BT016 Pro Hypersport (F&R).

While I had the qualifiers and Sportmax before on my 07 SV650s....I am surprised that on the Shiver I only managed to do 2960KM - rear down to marker and front was okish for another 500km.

Usually on the SV I could get 3500KM from Dunlop sportsmart Sport Max before reaching the marker. With Qualifiers I could get 4500KM.

What mileage did you guys get out of your original set of tyres?

My riding is anything but spirited.....I am a relative noob having only ridden for 4 years or so.......always the last to reach a destination in the group of mature riders.....

Thank you
Coz....

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Albion
06-13-2018, 03:39 AM
I have 4000km on my Shiver 900 and have about 3mm of tread left on the rear and 2mm on the front on the Dunlop qualifiers. I think I will try some Pirelli Angel GTs, as I'm not impressed with this mileage or the grip in cold and wet weather on the Dunlops.

tom83
06-13-2018, 05:00 AM
I am just under 6000km and recently realized that I have only about 1.6mm of thread left on the qualifiers that came with the bike.
I noticed this because I was checking the tires for a nail, since I was losing air (found one).
Now I will get the Angel GT as well, they get good reviews and seem to be fitting my riding profile quite well.

Cozman
06-14-2018, 12:12 PM
Thanks guys.....unusual for me to have such low mileage then.....maybe my crappy riding style...

Some mates mentioned that because I did the first 1000km with ATC3 and left the bike on ATC2 - the traction control might play havoc with the tyre wear.....momentarily cutting power etc.....I did have the binnacle lighting up like a Christmas tree when in ATC3......

Or maybe just crappy tarmac here in Cyprus.