PDA

View Full Version : Aprilia Rs125 Jetting Questions

Nils Trubkin
08-14-2015, 05:41 PM
Hi everyone. I got an Aprilia rs 125 (2003), i'm 17 and i had it only for a year so i'm not very experienced with all this bike stuff but i try to do my best.

So yeah, i will start off with saying that i googled and read articles and stuff for a really long time now (few weeks) and i am very confused about the MAIN JET SIZE matter on my bike.
I had recently made a cylinder/piston replacement as my previous one seized up (reason remains unknown more on that in this thread (http://www.apriliaforum.com/forums/showthread.php?306157-RAVE-Blade-killed-my-piston-cylinder)).
I have de-restricted it, and by that i mean RAVE and valve enabled, modded CDI, and a br10eg plug, the CAT is NOT removed, it is inside of the exhaust and i want to keep it that way.

Now for the tricky part. I got a 28! not 34! mm carb. The stock one. My jet settings are 128 MAIN, 70 starter (choke), 62 idle, second needle notch from the bottom i believe, and some random setting i often change on idle mixture screw. I don't want to fiddle around with anything else than MAIN jet, needle and idle mixture, rpm screws.
So the 128 jet is as i believe is on the rich side, because the plug is really black, and i notice some "rich symptoms" like sluggish power in the mid range, and it really becomes super powerful just as i hit 7k RPMs. I just finished the running in of the new engine parts and will do a plug chop soon. I did however make a test run the other day when i (after warmup) put it balls to the walls and got out about 145 kph. That is a bit too little i believe, but not really bad. So my questions are.

1. What do you think about 128 jet on a de-redistricted rs125? Too little/big?
2. Why do i see some people talking about some RIDICULOUSLY big main jets and recommending them for de-restricted rs125 with the 28 mm carb, like 160-180!!! It makes sense to put it on the 34, but not 28.