PDA

View Full Version : Connectors to the TuneECU cable, how?



mikesbaron
05-14-2015, 10:18 AM
I bought the USB to OSB cable so I can eventually start putting in a new load onto my 2002 Capo. I bought the Radio Shack connector adapter. But how do I get the wires from that onto the little male plugs inside the USB female side of my cable? How are ppl connecting those

279815

Capoandrew
05-14-2015, 03:22 PM
Either solder directly onto the pins or you can get 1.5mm spade connectors that will do the job. The problem with the spade connectors is they tend to slip off in time.
Personally, I hard wired from a female OBD socket onto the the molex plug. I've left the whole setup on the bike and just plug into the ODB connector when doing any tuning.

You can get the female ODB connectors from China for about 15AUD or 11US

Tarks
05-14-2015, 04:05 PM
www.lonelec.co.uk (http://www.loneelec.co.uk) why bother messing about?

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b183/tarks/2015-05/B708BCCD-5408-4313-B2D5-60563302769B.png (http://s19.photobucket.com/user/tarks/media/2015-05/B708BCCD-5408-4313-B2D5-60563302769B.png.html)

BartN
05-14-2015, 06:04 PM
279843Worked fine for me with bluetooth connection and USB.

fig
05-14-2015, 06:49 PM
I always wondered if a Bluetooth obd would work. Which one are you using? Fab up a water resistant cable and just leave that on the bike.

BartN
05-15-2015, 01:04 AM
I always wondered if a Bluetooth obd would work. Which one are you using? Fab up a water resistant cable and just leave that on the bike.

279853

With bluetooth you can only read some off the data with a 1.4 or 1.5 version (as written on the tineecu website). For some reason I can't get the tuneecu app on my android( maybe not for the Netherlands store??) so I use the Torque app to read the data. If you want to change the map or tune some off the data, I use the USB plugin with the tuneecu software.
leave it on under the seat, was also my idea :lol:

fig
05-15-2015, 08:54 PM
What is this torque app you speak of?

BartN
05-16-2015, 05:05 AM
What is this torque app you speak of?

Torgue (OBD check)is the name off the app itself. Found it in the google play store. There is a free and paid version. The free version is .....it cost me about 4 euros.
I rather have the tuneecu one, but I can't find it in google store.....

Capoandrew
05-16-2015, 05:19 AM
https://play.google.com/store/search?q=tuneecu&hl=en

BartN
05-16-2015, 03:17 PM
https://play.google.com/store/search?q=tuneecu&hl=en

I think my android version is too old.......I Can see the app on the internet play store, but not in my app for google play.......and the webversion is saying " this browser has no support anymore........time for a new phone I think......

mikesbaron
05-20-2015, 05:09 PM
I followed the instructions on the link on How To and watched this video but I'm not getting any connection to the bike's ECU. I verified this by plugging the cable into the bike's wiring harness with the bike key to the ON position, but not plugging the USB into the computer. Am I correct in thinking the cable should power up off of the ECU's plug? Because mine is not. Therefore I'm not getting the red-amber-green light on my TuneECU program I have open. Any ideas on what else I could be doing wrong?

Stanleybobly
05-20-2015, 05:25 PM
check if you got the FTDI chipset and not something else, otherwise it will not work with TuneEcu

mikesbaron
05-21-2015, 01:55 PM
What is the FTDI chipset?

sloth
05-21-2015, 03:31 PM
What is the FTDI chipset?

So far as I can tell, it's the clever bit in the cable (well, in the terminator) which converts the signal from the ECU to something the USB in the attached computer can understand, and which TuneECU relies upon. If your cable looks correct but does not have an FTDI chip inside it it will not work.

sloth
05-21-2015, 03:36 PM
Check this post and the few that follow it. Others have fallen into the "cable looks right but does not have right chip in it" trap.

http://www.apriliaforum.com/forums/showthread.php?216682-TuneEcu-Free-injection-mapping-and-diagnostic-for-Caponord-Futura&p=3813815&viewfull=1#post3813815

catfish
05-22-2015, 03:17 PM
I followed the instructions on the link on How To and watched this video but I'm not getting any connection to the bike's ECU. I verified this by plugging the cable into the bike's wiring harness with the bike key to the ON position, but not plugging the USB into the computer. Am I correct in thinking the cable should power up off of the ECU's plug? Because mine is not. Therefore I'm not getting the red-amber-green light on my TuneECU program I have open. Any ideas on what else I could be doing wrong?

Your adapter cable from ODBII to Aprilia is not wired correctly. This is a better wiring diagram from Karl that I can only find on this TuneECU page (http://www.tuneecu.com/TuneECU_Fr/Aprilia_Components.html) now.

280418

Good luck,

Catfish ...