PDA

View Full Version : Capo Turn Signals / Indicators



Britt
03-11-2015, 05:54 PM
I'm getting desperate to replace the rear indicators on my bike. I'm a bit tired of gluing them on every time they get bumped. I've seen discussions of grafting on units from the Dorsoduro, Ulysses, and some other aftermarket units.

I'd like something that looks factory, which many of the aftermarket units do not. The Capo 1200 indicators look great but I'm not certain they'll go on easy enough. Sounds like the Dorsoduro indicators might use unusual bulbs that I won't find locally? The Ulysses units look alright but not great...

So what have you fine folks used? Would you share the details and pictures so I can make an educated purchase? Thanks in advance!

BigSteve
03-11-2015, 06:00 PM
I fitted some rubber armed aprilia indicators like these several years ago, threw the oem's in the bin, they were held together with Araldite glue:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/APRILIA-SL750-SHIVER-FRONT-INDICATORS-/331495634866?pt=UK_Motorcycle_Parts_13&hash=item4d2eadf7b2#ht_54wt_1181

Picture taken August 2014 ...about to catch the Ferry to Ireland to attend the Capo Camping....:banana:

haga lout
03-11-2015, 06:10 PM
Dorso/shiver but also triumph speed triple I think are cheaper new

Globalone
03-12-2015, 01:18 AM
Not sure what you define as easy ,but the 1200 ones will fit and there is a LED upgrade. Tiger ones will fit they, even do a relay to suit also tiger owners sell the OEM indicators after upgrade which are a cheap replacement. Look at the 1200 and dd site or the xc forum

JohnG.
03-12-2015, 06:49 AM
Still have the originals... RH rear one's had a 'splint' on it for 8+ yrs, but they're 100% reliable...

Dogslobber
03-12-2015, 09:39 AM
post removed, not useful info. Sorry.

coug66
03-12-2015, 12:02 PM
Cycle gear has these for only $10 (http://www.cyclegear.com/SPEEDMETAL-Short-Stalk-Turn-Signal)

I just installed them on my Capo.

275009

The right side resistor failed on the LED right side so I decided to replace the set with a bulb turn set.

These were the LEds I had mounted but they required a separate set of resistors to activate the flashers.

275010

simonevs67
03-12-2015, 06:03 PM
I'm getting desperate to replace the rear indicators on my bike. I'm a bit tired of gluing them on every time they get bumped. I've seen discussions of grafting on units from the Dorsoduro, Ulysses, and some other aftermarket units.

I'd like something that looks factory, which many of the aftermarket units do not. The Capo 1200 indicators look great but I'm not certain they'll go on easy enough. Sounds like the Dorsoduro indicators might use unusual bulbs that I won't find locally? The Ulysses units look alright but not great...

So what have you fine folks used? Would you share the details and pictures so I can make an educated purchase? Thanks in advance!

KTM 990 adventure, I just put an early set on mine that I had lying round the garage but the new ones 06 on will fit also and look factory.

Capoandrew
03-13-2015, 12:21 AM
Really the choice is endless.
Triumph and Aprilia are the same manufacturer of indicators after about 2003
Ktm are very similar to Aprilia, with some rather minor differences.

Hey I went Aprilia Dorso only because they have rubber stalks and don't snap off if you look at them like the OEM ones. (Mine were snapped off by the sales guys when I bought the bike FFS!)

Really, who ever invented the original units should be sent to Indonesia with about 20kg of cocaine. (bad joke, I know)

Stanleybobly
03-13-2015, 04:47 AM
search ebay:
f800 turnsignals (http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=p2050601.m570.l1313.TR3.TRC0.A0.H0.Xf800+s ignals.TRS0&_nkw=f800+signals&ghostText=&_sacat=0)

relay:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Turn-Signal-Flasher-Blinker-Relay-12V-2-Pin-Motorcycle-LED-Indicator-Light-/231216647433?pt=UK_Motorcycle_Parts_13&hash=item35d5960d09

Britt
03-13-2015, 08:49 PM
Thanks guys for the replies. Guess I don't want to buy some cheapo set from Hong Kong that will crack within a year. I put a set of those on a Honda Sabre I resurrected and one little bump cracked one of them. Think I'll go with OEM Dorsoduro signals from our hosts as they should be good quality, and the cost is reasonable...

275104

Capoandrew
03-14-2015, 03:15 AM
Britt, I have these. The holes will need to be modified a little bit for them to fit. Nothing a bit of filing can't fix.

Britt
03-21-2015, 11:38 AM
Alright, well the deed is done.

275536

Problem is.... the relay won't trigger. I'd prefer higher wattage (brighter) brighter bulbs, versus changing the relay. Now to start searching for them...

haga lout
03-21-2015, 01:10 PM
Alright, well the deed is done.

275536

Problem is.... the relay won't trigger. I'd prefer higher wattage (brighter) brighter bulbs, versus changing the relay. Now to start searching for them...

You can get the right wattage bulbs for them I got mine from a large motor shop no problem

Britt
03-21-2015, 02:20 PM
You can get the right wattage bulbs for them I got mine from a large motor shop no problem

I stopped at two shops today and the only amber bulbs with the proper base are too large to fit inside the lens. I'd love a link to bulbs that would work! :)

mikesbaron
03-25-2015, 11:29 AM
I just installed some KTM 690E enduro turn signals on the rear and they won't flash! WTH?

They are incandescent bulbs/filament. What's the deal and how do I get them to flash properly? When I hit the swtich they light up but don't blink.

haga lout
03-25-2015, 11:34 AM
I just installed some KTM 690E enduro turn signals on the rear and they won't flash! WTH?

They are incandescent bulbs/filament. What's the deal and how do I get them to flash properly? When I hit the swtich they light up but don't blink.

Check the wattage of your bulbs you need 12v 21w bulbs think you will find the bulbs on ktms are the same as the dorsoduro Britt has the same problem and is haveing trouble getting the right bulb in the usa I'm tring to get the code for the bulb as I can get them here

Britt
03-25-2015, 11:58 AM
Other options are a flasher relay made for lower wattage LED's, or adding resistors to the wires to your signals. My personal preference would be to have brighter bulbs for more visibility in traffic so that is what I am pursuing for now.

And a big thank you to haga lout for trying to help me out with information on those 21 watt bulbs!

Britt
04-02-2015, 08:28 AM
I've got an LED friendly, two terminal relay coming in the mail... so hopefully that will solve my flashing issue. If it does, I will simply order some spare incandescent bulbs from our host, and enjoy my bike. There are no local suppliers for these bulbs.

These indicators look great IMHO, but I have to admit that I should have gone with LED's or something that accepts bulbs I can purchase in the US!

haga lout
04-02-2015, 08:48 AM
I've got an LED friendly, two terminal relay coming in the mail... so hopefully that will solve my flashing issue. If it does, I will simply order some spare incandescent bulbs from our host, and enjoy my bike. There are no local suppliers for these bulbs.

These indicators look great IMHO, but I have to admit that I should have gone with LED's or something that accepts bulbs I can purchase in the US! just been to shop and the bulbs have code 146r 12v21w hope this helps been told it's a common motorcycle bulb but don't know off what

Britt
04-02-2015, 08:52 AM
just been to shop and the bulbs have code 146r 12v21w hope this helps been told it's a common motorcycle bulb but don't know off what

Thank you sir!

Britt
04-02-2015, 06:48 PM
I now have flashing bulbs!

276454

Globalone
04-15-2015, 04:47 AM
Whilst in the dealer looking at the New RSV4 I noticed that it has LED rear indicators as standard 80 ($140) a set of 4

aoro
04-20-2015, 04:28 AM
The red one :)

277870

277871

:D

Titan Foxy
01-16-2017, 09:02 AM
Afternoon all,

I am new to this site

i have read the thread and am about to change the rear indicators on my 52 plate Capo.

anyone give me a hint as to where the wiring goes? It just seems to disappear.

thanks in advance

AndyB
01-16-2017, 12:47 PM
This might be useful.

Titan Foxy
01-16-2017, 04:02 PM
That's good to see and will help later, but cant find where the wiring goes

haga lout
01-16-2017, 05:38 PM
That's good to see and will help later, but cant find where the wiring goes
Looks like you need to strip the back end down

BigSteve
01-18-2017, 09:22 AM
That's good to see and will help later, but cant find where the wiring goes

If you are not using the existing wiring for the indicators then I'm afraid as Haga has suggested you'll need to partially strip the back end to enable you to see where the indicator wires connect to the loom. It's several years since I was working on the back end of my capo...!!..hence I can't remember exactly how far you will need to strip down.