PDA

View Full Version : Pre tension the contra spring?

justo316
05-22-2004, 10:56 PM
I want to try using the Red contra spring, but it's just too much money to waste at the moment. I have the Yellow at the moment.

I was thinking, is it alright to just find some washers that I can use to pre tension my yellow spring? I thought this would give me an indication as to whether a red (stiffer) spring would be beneficial for me.

TiminIndy
05-23-2004, 01:02 AM
Hell, you have a scooter that costs $4,990 AUD --the springs are only $17 USD ($24 AUD).:WTF:

justo316
05-23-2004, 06:13 AM
Originally posted by TiminIndy
Hell, you have a scooter that costs $4,990 AUD --the springs are only $17 USD ($24 AUD).:WTF:

Yeah, but it'll cost about 40 bux including postage and I'll have to wait 2 weeks to try it.

Besides, I am a starving student so that 40bux could be much better spent elsewhere.

NeoGeniX
05-23-2004, 06:57 AM
Red? No way...red is only suitable for bike's with big bore kits and lots of torque. Not for derestricted ditech's save your money and keep the yellow one.

justo316
05-23-2004, 07:24 AM
Im not so sure. The only problem with running a red spring is that it might be too stiff to be able to hit a good top speed. However I think with heavier weights, it could work nicely.

Basically, I want better performance up hills. The yellow is leaps and bounds better over the white and stock, but I think there is still room for improvement.

That is why I just want to try adding a couple washers to the yellow spring to see if a stiffer setup works better/worse/same.

TiminIndy
05-23-2004, 09:27 AM
Does the adjustable clutch basically let you set the clutch to engage at multiple settings in between what the 4 springs allow for? (In between yellow & red, or in between white & stock)

I know that would be a lot more expensive than some washers though--who knows, maybe the washers would work.

justo316
05-23-2004, 10:05 AM