PDA

View Full Version : Aprilia top box - help me please



BruceWayne
08-09-2013, 11:37 PM
I picked up a top box for the Capo today, I'd ordered it with my bike and it finally came in. First impressions are that it is a nice match for the bike with both paint and upholstery (it has a built in pillion backrest) looking good. Some of the finishing of the plastics looks a bit rough and the lock seems stiffer than it should be.

There's enough room for one full face helmet along with gloves and a little room left over. You wouldn't be able to fit two full face lids in it though. One thing I noticed is that it is possible to close it up without the need to lock it which might be a plus for some people. I was told by the dealer that it would be keyed alike to my bike, which was a big incentive for me to buy the Aprilia box over a third party one. I can tell you that this is definitely not the case however. They keys are completely different. The box is made by Shad.

Anyway, here's where I'm stuck. I've installed the mounting plate - relatively easy once I'd filed out one of the holes in order to actually fit the bolt. Next step is to mount the plastic coupling plate to the metal mounting plate. Thing is, the coupling plate came attached to the box itself and I can't figure out how to get it off. I don't want to force it as I don't want to damage anything. Anyone else been through this either with the Aprilia one or other Shad boxes? It may well be something I'm missing on account of sheer stupidity but any help is welcome. Thanks!

SpazDad
08-09-2013, 11:48 PM
shooting in dark here.

http://apriliarsv.com/aprilia-rsvr/3443-shad-box.html

SpazDad
08-09-2013, 11:51 PM
I have a givi.

You need to turn the key and press a red button to remove the box. I don't see the button and the units look very similar. It maybe a black button under the handle. Just a guess though

BruceWayne
08-10-2013, 06:37 PM
Thanks SpazDad, got it sorted. Appreciate the responses!

It was just me missing the obvious but probably something they should have at least mentioned in the instructions.the case anyone else gets stuck, it seems like a single mechanism but there are actually two buttons. The upper one opens the box, lower allows you to remove it from the mounting plate.

I'm blaming it on a really long week at work, ok...

dsgfh
08-11-2013, 12:44 AM
Pics?

BruceWayne
08-11-2013, 04:48 PM
Here are some pics of the top box. Sorry they aren't great quality.

229178

229179

229180

dsgfh
08-11-2013, 09:08 PM
That backrest looks awfully comfy.

AussieMat
08-12-2013, 04:13 AM
Box look great, can't wait for a red one to turn up. Is there more to the bracket or does it just bolt to the rear of the bike where the 4 bolts in the grab rails are ?

olie
08-12-2013, 07:54 AM
I have a 50 liter Shad SH50 for 4.5 year and about 60k miles. I have used in 2 bikes and now I will be using it on a third bike. Note that all Shad boxes do not have the same plate... the stronger plate fits only the 48L and above. I have no idea of the Capo box capacity.

BruceWayne
08-12-2013, 05:17 PM
In order to fit, you remove the four rear bolts on the grab handles and mount a metal plate over this area. You then attach a plastic mounting bracket to the plate. This assembly stays in place when the box is removed from the bike. The Aprilia top box is a 37 liter capacity.

dsgfh
08-12-2013, 08:15 PM
My Givi V47NNT is sitting in Derimutt "Package not due for delivery". Hopefully both it & bike will be ready for me when I get back into town on Thursday.

keithc
09-15-2013, 06:05 PM
Got one of these top boxes coming with my bike (or after I pick the bike up depending on if its delivered on tome). Looking at the bike I am a little concerned that it may make it harder for other road users to see the rear light. Shad do supply an additional brake light which helps, but I am still a little concerned as the box does not appear to even have a reflector fitted.
Anyone got better picture showing this?

Keith C

keithc
09-19-2013, 05:39 PM
If this is the top box they use then Shad make a rather neat additional brake light
http://www.shad.es/en/shad-world/products/cases/top-cases/sh40/c17r25/
Could be fitting one of these later

keith C

keithc
10-17-2013, 05:24 PM
Could anyone who has one of these top boxes please post a photo of the mount without the top box fitted. Can it be used as a rack or for fitting a bigger top box?

Keith C

sanausbe
10-19-2013, 01:30 PM
Could anyone who has one of these top boxes please post a photo of the mount without the top box fitted. Can it be used as a rack or for fitting a bigger top box?

Keith C

I have fitted the original topcase, made by Shad; here is the pictures without the box:

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j16/sancopanco/caponord/capo1_zpsb9b9aabb.jpg

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j16/sancopanco/caponord/capo2_zps780e70c2.jpg

The base is larger from the well-known brand Givi bases. But it is the same with the other Shad boxes; you can buy some other big boxes from Shad.

S.

keithc
10-20-2013, 06:45 AM
Thanks, just what I wanted to see.

Keith C

Fergus
04-03-2014, 01:24 PM
I'm due to get my white Capo in a weeks time and it will have the specific top box fitted. It seems that it will be a Shad 37 litre capacity. Does anyone know if that is definitely the case and what the weight limit is please.

thanks

keithc
04-03-2014, 01:40 PM
HI


Not sure in its weight limit, but the Aprilia page says its a 40 litrle top box.

Keith C

ps best of luck getting one, I gave up after a 6 week wait and fitted a Givi top box.

Fergus
04-03-2014, 03:16 PM
Thanks Keith. The box is already in stock as Wheels have a promotion on so I've seen it on a bike...nice. I imagine it might be about 5kg to 8 kg judging by my old Givi ones. What Aprilia page?

keithc
04-03-2014, 04:04 PM
Wheels have one in stock !!! Thats who I brought my bike from in Novemnber and who couldnt get one up till Mid December.

Great company to deal with BTW, most helpfull. Please give my regareds to the sales manager.

Keith Cross

fredaroony
04-03-2014, 04:10 PM
The other option would be to get one from the forum sponsors, not sure how the UK price compares but the US price is roughly 60% cheaper.

keithc
04-03-2014, 05:52 PM
Top box is Ģ239.99 in the UK. Thats approx $400 or Aus $ 431

Keith C

mason.planft
04-03-2014, 09:33 PM
I've used some strips of 3M class 1 reflective tape. The photo isn't of my bike, but you get the idea. My local work wear and safety gear shop also sell curved strips specifically for helmets. I've got strips on my helmet and top box, I light up like an Xmas tree at night!247838

Fergus
04-04-2014, 04:28 PM
Wheels have one in stock !!! Thats who I brought my bike from in Novemnber and who couldnt get one up till Mid December.

Great company to deal with BTW, most helpfull. Please give my regareds to the sales manager.

Keith Cross

will do Keith ta

Capo9
04-04-2014, 04:50 PM
Top box is Ģ239.99 in the UK. Thats approx $400 or Aus $ 431


AF1 price is $399 US. Same Same.

ebanistas
06-13-2014, 04:38 AM
I have fitted the original topcase, made by Shad; here is the pictures without the box:

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j16/sancopanco/caponord/capo1_zpsb9b9aabb.jpg

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j16/sancopanco/caponord/capo2_zps780e70c2.jpg

The base is larger from the well-known brand Givi bases. But it is the same with the other Shad boxes; you can buy some other big boxes from Shad.

S.

That's not exactly so. I talked to Shad, and I confirmed that all luggage, including the Aprilia Caponord, they can share the base model to SH46 (46 liters).


The base differently for top case SH48, SH49 and SH50 (which share the same base).


You canīt install a Shad case (more than 46 liters), without changing the substance of the original suitcase Aprilia (40 liters).


This is the for boxes, maximum of 46 liters of Shad (Shad SH46 to the model), and de Original Aprilia Caponord 1200.
254607254605


This is the base for boxes, of more than 48 liters of Shad.

254606254608

KiwiNinja69
06-13-2014, 11:59 PM
I notice on the Aprilia AU website the top box is now $653

Geno
06-14-2014, 01:45 AM
I have a Givi E46 that i want to install. I need a source for the adapter plate that fits the bolt hole pattern on the Capo. I have the SW Motech Monokey base. Any ideas?