PDA

View Full Version : Front turn signals now running lights



mtrionfo
06-15-2002, 05:36 PM
Hi all. I finished adding running lights to the front turn signals on my Capo. Total time was about three hours. (I am a slow tinkerer and I was making up the plan as I went!) Here's a picture of the result:

- www.2kidsmedia.com/mc/P6150019a.jpg (http://www.2kidsmedia.com/mc/P6150019a.jpg)

I replaced the stock single-filament sockets with a couple of two-filament sockets that my dealer had lying around. I removed the dash panel because the turn signal nacelles are attached by screws from the inside of the dash. Removing the dash also made running the new power wire alot easier. Here's a picture of the Capo with the dash removed:

- www.2kidsmedia.com/mc/P6140005a.jpg (http://www.2kidsmedia.com/mc/P6140005a.jpg)

I took power from the hot side of the turn signal relay, which is located just behind the left signal socket. (The new power wire for the running lights is the red wire in the picture.) After checking all the connections (and testing proper operation of the signals and running lights!) I replaced the dash.

Suggestion: If you remove your dash panel keep track of which screws go where. There are two different types and more than a dozen in total.

I'm very happy with the results. I believe running lights are a safety feature as they make a single headlight more easily recognizable as a motorcycle. They look good too! :-)

Regards, Marty

borayurtoren
10-24-2002, 07:31 AM
I believe you also painted a black frame around the turn signal glasses?

Bora Yurtoren

mtrionfo
10-24-2002, 09:09 AM
I didn't paint the turn signal lenses. They are the original light gray tint as came from the factory. I guess the light in the photo is not that good and you are actually seeing the darker gray paint of the fairing that is underneath the perimeter of the lens.

Regards, Marty (02 Silver Capo)