PDA

View Full Version : Santa Stole my Ducati



TheX
12-08-2011, 06:55 PM
http://www.randymcelroy.com/images/Duc/duc1a.jpg

But he left me this,

http://www.randymcelroy.com/images/aprilia/new_ape1.jpg

http://www.randymcelroy.com/images/aprilia/new_ape2.jpg

TheGeek
12-08-2011, 07:01 PM
LOL--

Welcome and fuck off.

*Standard Greeting*

TheX
12-08-2011, 07:01 PM
LOL--

Welcome and fuck off.

*Standard Greeting*

You're still my bitch, well...someone's bitch stormy.

TheGeek
12-08-2011, 07:04 PM
You're still my bitch, well...someone's bitch stormy.

HAHhaha.

I miss you!

I knew you'd come to the dark side soon. Now if only March would hurry the fuck up with the Tuono V4, we can rock Austin in style!

TheX
12-08-2011, 07:40 PM
So Storm, can I go further on this than I could on the Duc before running out of gas? 125 miles on the Duc was dry and walking.

Chris_Mag
12-08-2011, 07:46 PM
So Storm, can I go further on this than I could on the Duc before running out of gas? 125 miles on the Duc was dry and walking.

On the highway @ 70mph with the stock APRC map, definitely, but you'll probably want to be looking for a station at 125-130 miles to be on the safe side. If you're (edit, you're, not your) in the twisties, you should expect to be stopping for fuel at 110-120 miles, or less depending on how ham-fisted you are and how fast your travelling.

On the street, I've seen as low as 26mpg and as high as 41mpg on the APRC map, depending on use. What really chews fuel is stop and go riding in-city, at least for me. On the track, figure maybe 20mpg or so.

TheGeek
12-08-2011, 09:03 PM
So Storm, can I go further on this than I could on the Duc before running out of gas? 125 miles on the Duc was dry and walking.

You should get what Chris said, the MPG is quite good on the V4 compared to our old vtwins.

One thing I recommend, and others will chime in, is get Ed and Micah at AF1 to do a PC V on it.

Rspec99
12-09-2011, 12:12 AM
Santa gave you an upgrade.

ckruzel
12-09-2011, 12:56 AM
i get about 90 miles when the fuel light comes on

TheX
12-09-2011, 04:49 AM
Is that the bike that Ducati Austin had for sale?

Yes it is.

hank
12-09-2011, 09:24 AM
Yes it is.

Hey X, tell the tale of woe about your Duc, it is a good one...
:p:

Eppy
12-09-2011, 09:30 AM
Hey X, tell the tale of woe about your Duc, it is a good one...
:p:


http://i40.tinypic.com/o0ui3d.gif


.

Ed / AF1 Racing
12-09-2011, 11:10 AM
doesnt need a PCV

just needs a pipe and RACE mapping.

slothfryk
12-09-2011, 12:27 PM
I think your Santa has been watching some of those Best Buy commercials and really stepped up him game. Dang!

Welcome to the crew. Enjoy!

MishMashRSV4
12-09-2011, 12:35 PM
Is that the bike that Ducati Austin had for sale?


Yes it is.

Fantastic!!!!

I saw that in their showroom when I paid a visit to Austin in September. Happy for you, my friend..

Do us all a favor and give a little advice to this guy:

http://www.apriliaforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=241516

TheGeek
12-09-2011, 01:11 PM
doesnt need a PCV

just needs a pipe and RACE mapping.

Fuck dude! I'm trying to make you some money so I can get my cut. Way to ruin the transaction.

TheX
12-09-2011, 01:53 PM
Thought DA had a pipe to go with it.

The original owner, the guy that put 324 miles on it, has the pipe. We're working on a deal, He paid 3800 for the full Akro Ti system.

Ed / AF1 Racing
12-09-2011, 02:10 PM
He paid 3800 for the full Akro Ti system.

ouch.....someone took it in the booty....they dont cost anywhere near that even with install labor

http://www.af1racing.com/store/Scripts/prodList.asp?idCategory=2077

TheX
12-09-2011, 02:22 PM
OK, ran fine yesterday, and today it's telling me to insert the user code and just spins with no fire till I ran the battery down. I have no idea how to enter a code I don't have.

Ed / AF1 Racing
12-09-2011, 04:10 PM
user code is a personal security code....you dont have one set which is a good thing.

got something else going on, the code is not why its not running.....bring it by our Austin shop, Brent there can get her going. Fully certified RSV4, and I'll be in Austin tomorrow too.

with so few miles, and so much time passed probably with original gas in it, I'd be thinking some sort of fuel or fuel pump problem.

TheX
12-09-2011, 04:42 PM
I charged the battery, and got it running. Blew a lot of smoke at first then took it out for about 100 miles. Runs and starts GREAT now. I'll definitely bring it in for the break in service.

Ed / AF1 Racing
12-09-2011, 04:49 PM
I charged the battery, and got it running. Blew a lot of smoke at first then took it out for about 100 miles. Runs and starts GREAT now. I'll definitely bring it in for the break in service.

we'll update the mapping too, its probably on the super old crappy mapping

TheGeek
12-09-2011, 05:05 PM
Take care of my buddy Ed.

He's an awesome dood!

fastmike
12-10-2011, 01:45 PM
Congrats on the upgrade!

I only got slightly better mileage than my buddy on his 1198S before he sold it.

V4Victory
12-11-2011, 09:34 AM
You should get what Chris said, the MPG is quite good on the V4 compared to our old vtwins.


Nah it isn't, just that the Ducati has a smaller fuel tank , start looking for gas after 80 miles, you get about 17 miles to dry once the light comes on

fastmike
12-13-2011, 10:36 PM
That's what I said, about 87 miles to a tank!