PDA

View Full Version : Clutch hydraulics - how do they work?

kevinb
07-30-2011, 10:15 AM
There are hundreds of posts here that revolve around clutch hydraulics - mostly as they relate to problems finding neutral. I've managed to get my clutch to behave (knock wood), but at this point, what I'd like to find is something that really explains exactly how the system works.

People talk about bleeding the clutch, replacing a jet and adjusting free play, but what boggles my mind is how an air bubble or whatever can make the shift pedal so intractable at just one point, when every other shift will work just fine! And I wonder, what might all of this have to do with the "patented Pneumatic Power Clutch" slipper mechanism?

I'm not an engineer, but I do appreciate an explanation of systems (managed to learn how to make 1200 psi steam push 70,000 tons through the water at 30+ knots). If I could just get my hands on the right book or a decent video.... Google and Wikipedia were pretty much a bust. Any suggestions?

SEAN
07-30-2011, 11:26 AM
I'm no scientist,

But believe it all rather straight forward anyway. I don't know pneumatic clutches have any bearing on it.

The difficulty with the neutral is really that the bikes gears it prefers to be in if you like, are either side of it, and you're trying to kind of balance the selector position, firmly, but with less effort, via the lever, onto a smaller 'notch' between them, which still firmly holds 'N' in place.

If the clutch is dragging slightly when you do this, you need more, or will use more, effort. When you do this you push it too far, so end up in 1st or 2nd, and somewhat red faced if you can't get the knack.

Riding the bike you can get higher or lower gears by relieving the engine load, off the driveline momentarily, without using the clutch at all, so tiny air bubbles whilst riding and changing, are masked by this natural mechanical possibility.