PDA

View Full Version : thermo?



agabinet
03-14-2010, 05:25 PM
I recently completed a rebuild. Bike starts, runs, but the dash never stops flashing "cold." Even after running 7 - 8 minutes, it says "cold." Did I miss a wire somewhere?

Inunf
03-14-2010, 05:34 PM
Have you bled the cooling system completely?

agabinet
03-14-2010, 06:11 PM
Have you bled the cooling system completely?

Thought I had, but I'll try again.

Ridge-AU
03-14-2010, 10:40 PM
Check all the sensor wires first... If you still can't fix the problem, you can buy an aftermarket digi thermometer with a sensor that will fit straight into the bleed screw hole on the water pump. Sometimes these are better than the stock thermometer in your gauges.

Daytona and Koso make the thermometers I am talking about, around 100 bucks.

jonasb46
03-15-2010, 04:21 AM
from memory i think there should be a wire on the thermo contact AND a earth cable on the thermostate housing! But it`s some time since i had it down last time..

agabinet
03-16-2010, 07:20 AM
The main sensor wire had come off -- the connector somehow had gotten deformed and wouldn't stay on. Fixed now.