PDA

View Full Version : About to be new to the RS250 fold

soofle616
03-05-2010, 03:35 PM
Hey all,

I am very hopefully going to be adding an RS250 to my stable right between my Mille and RS50 and was hoping you guys could give me some pointers. 1st, I am still very new to 2 stokes, the 50 being my only experience with them outside of a chainsaw. 2nd Since I can't seem to find an owners or shop manual for the 250 (i have searched here but haven't found anything that I can actually use), everything I know of it comes from skimming through posts in this section. So here are my questions:

1) skool me on multi cylinder 2 strokes in as much as they are different from single cylinder

2) what the hell is an exhaust valve and why do I keep seeing posts about it as I go through this section?

3) what are the common problems this thing sees, and how bad do those common problems get? (Example: the mille suffers from tank warpage on certain years that have plastic fuel tanks which leads to fuel leakage)

4) since I haven't pick up the bike yet, what specifically should I look for when I go see it? I have been riding for 10 years and have gone through my share of used bikes but this is a new animal to me so outside of the usual list of is it damaged at all, does it start, does it run, what does it need, etc., etc. where do i look for potential problems.

5) other than tyga and af1, where do I look for replacement or upgrade parts?

I'm sure all of these questions have been answered but my searching has not gotten me very far. All I really need is to be pointed in the right direction for older threads and I can do the reading on my own so you all don't have to rewrite everything. Thanks a bunch, looking forward to Ape number 3 :cheers:

R1Frank
03-05-2010, 04:12 PM