PDA

View Full Version : Adjusting Rider Sag - Showas

Hogarthd
07-17-2009, 07:12 PM
OK, I'm not a motorcycle expert by any means. My 2007 Tuono is my fourth bike if I'm counting my wife's Monster that I ride occasionally (and was purchased in my name!). I've been reading the Andrew Trevitt "Sportbike Suspension Tuning" b/c I feel that the Tuono's suspension is really REALLY stiff for me when commuting around and going on weekend joyrides, which is what I do on it 95% of the time. Here's my question:

Trevitt suggests 30-35mm of rider sag on the forks or even MORE for street riding. My initial measurement w/stock preload was 11mm. I cranked the preload adjusters all the way out to their stops and I'm at about 15mm right now. I haven't measured the rear yet b/c I need my wife's help, but it seems slightly better at default settings anyhow. Do I need new springs? Am I interpreting something wrong on the 30-35mm rider sag? Is it insane to have the preloads cranked all the way out in front? Also, for the rear, that locking collar is so tight that tapping on it with a screwdriver/hammer doesn't really budge it...I'm guessing I need the thing up on a rear stand to work the rear preload...I can't believe the T doesn't come with the rear C-wrench...my old SV650 even had one of those. The T toolkit is a cruel joke.

Also, the bike is for sale if anyone's interested - beautiful, black 2007 w/6300 miles and Akrapovics on it. $9K. I hope nobody wants it :(

thanks!

Hoagy

Biker_911
07-18-2009, 09:40 AM
You're probably measuring sag incorrectly. You need to measure the suspension fully extended with no weight on it. I did it by tilting the bike over on the sidestand with the front wheel in the air and getting the wife to measure for me. Then you need to put on your riding gear and take a measurement with you sitting on the bike. I did this by balancing the bike with my hand on the workbench. The difference in these 2 measurements is the sag measurement you're looking for.