PDA

View Full Version : Maint. wrench symbol came on today

quagmire
05-20-2009, 11:37 AM
I have a 2009 RS125 and took it out for a ride today. I am running the Motul 710 2T injector oil, but I topped off the reservoir with a little Silkolene 2T scooter oil I had. It is also fully synthetic so I figured it would be ok. It seemed a little thicker than the Motul.

Anyway, I was having a good time on some nice twisty roads when I noticed that the little wrench icon was lit on my gauges. The icon is always on now. I noticed this just after I turned 1000km, tell me it is just a maintenance light.

I'm new to 2 strokes and am hoping this is nothing serious. If it is just a maint. indicator, how can it be reset?

I changed trans oil right away after a few heat cycles and about 300km with Agip 75w90 synthetic. I was going to change it again at 1000km, but the weather is finally breaking and I wanted to ride.

Thanks.

mekros
05-20-2009, 03:02 PM
It's telling you that it's time to take your bike into your local dealer for a service. I can't remember how to reset it, someone else will tell you the trick.

Gman2005
05-20-2009, 03:16 PM
yes it is oil change time haha, ummm you really should do it though mate or you could be seeing problems later on if u don't. Do it yourself or go to the Aprilia dealership and get them to do it for you. Come to www.tjtuning.co.uk/forums/ and we can help you out alot.

quagmire
05-20-2009, 03:52 PM
Thanks. I found a post about resetting it. I have new oil on it's way now along with new spark plugs. I was reading about cleaning the power valve. I believe mine is sticking. Before today I had decent power between 6k and 8k RPM's, but now it is pretty flat. I could feel a transition in power around 6k and then again around 8k RPM's before, but now it is pretty much linear all the way to 8k RPM's.