PDA

View Full Version : Engine Splutter

evl885
05-17-2009, 11:43 PM
Hi All

Really cool site and yes im a newbie to this site and bikes...
I just got a 2006 RS125 :burnout: last Friday(sorry if im in the wrong section) and i've noticed two issues with the bike, any assistance would be appreciated.

1. When the bike is cold and i start it up it idles for a abit then stalls... I pull the choke all the way down, press ignition and it starts no issues. I put my helmet on, then one glove and then it will stall. I need to keep holding the throttle to avoid stalling.
After starting the engine do i need to adjust the choke immediately, or is there something else im doing wrong?

2. I ran out of oil yesterday and got Castrol 2T full synthetic. I proceeded to pour it into the oil tank under the chair, was I suppose to mix this with water? I’ve read a lot of chatter about premix ratio?
Three hours after I topped up the oil and the engine was cold, I heated the engine back up with my usual routine. Once warm I rode home, about 8mins and all the way home it wouldn’t rev properly and spluttered a lot… Since im at work now I can't check and its been playing on my mind but maybe I left the choke pulled down and rode home… would this have an effect?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Cheers
John

Gman2005
05-18-2009, 04:07 AM
alright mate, go to www.tjtuning.co.uk/forums/ theres loads of help there for you.

evl885
05-18-2009, 06:58 AM
Thanks GMan that site was very useful!

My Bike is now dead... I came home and tried to start it, turned over fine idled for about 20sec then stalled and would not re-fire...

I've checked fuel, kill switch, oil, battery and all if fine, i did the following:
1. held the start button for 30sec, cranked but nothing else
2. held start button while pulling throttle, cranked but nothing else
3. did a hill start, which seemed to turn the engine but revs just drop and stalls with no response to throttle