PDA

View Full Version : Anyone Considered Going An Electric Water Pump

coffee
04-04-2009, 11:50 AM
Guys,
Has anyone considered or gone with removing the water pump and changing to electric? Do you think we may have anything to gain in this?
I know it sounds small but thinking the bike has standard about 15nm of torque which is absolutely sweet fa. I am thinking the removal of the oil pump and water pump together maybe noticed. Not at higher rpm but at launch?

Noassmblyrqired
04-04-2009, 07:21 PM
I work as an engineer for a pump company...most of the pumps weigh as much as 10 or 20 RS125's put together, other pumps weigh as much as several cars put together. But the concepts are all very similar.

A small amount of torque gained at high RPM equals a very significant gain in HP. Torque is 1ftlb to 1HP at 5250RPM. So, at 10,500RPM it's 1ftlb makes 2HP so torque gains get magnified at high RPM not low.

Pumps tend to be rated in Hp not torque. The losses (efficiency) of a pump vary with RPM. You would need to make an "efficiency map" of the RPM band to know how much loss there is. This could certainly be done with a before and after map.

There certainly are other advantages to running an electric water pump. You can vary the voltage relative to cooling demand to have optimal cooling in all situations. There is most certainly an "optimal water flow" to get maximum heat extraction from the cylinder head. There is also probably an "optimal water flow" to extract heat from the radiator. Depending on how well Aprilia/Rotax did their engineering homework they may or may not be the same flow number... I would bet at max RPM the motor flows more than that number. This scenario would also allow you to eliminate the thermostat. Coolant flow (Voltage) would be indexed off of cylinder head coolant temp for maximum efficiency.