PDA

View Full Version : alarm



shorty08
08-15-2008, 08:09 AM
has anyone fitted one of these to there sr? if so how does the battery cope? thanks

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=190242724871&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:GB:1123

Sean1
08-15-2008, 08:34 AM
I have one on my other scoot (not that brand). The battery is cheesy but it still runs the alarm well. I am planning to get one for my SR50 as well. There is alarms specially made for scooters.

shorty08
08-15-2008, 08:35 AM
what alarm is it do you know the model?

06spidey2
08-15-2008, 01:31 PM
I use the Gorilla brand, and its flawless. I think DonWerner uses the Cyclone that you linked us to. The Gorilla brand also has a low battery warning, but I use a battery tender all the time, so no drain on my end.

shorty08
08-15-2008, 02:34 PM
but is the cyclone any good? or do you not know.

06spidey2
08-15-2008, 07:53 PM
I have experience with Gorilla-love it. The Gorilla was the one I could easily get my hands on, with the right accesories, and the right price. If you pick up the Cyclone, let us know how you like it.

TiminIndy
08-15-2008, 08:28 PM
I have the Gorilla also, the one with the 2-way Paging system. It works great and doesn't drain my battery at all. Mine gets set off daily because I haven't gotten around to turning down the sensitivity and loud Harleys tend to set it off on the sensitive setting. Whenever it gets set off, I get a page inside the building at work and have to step out the door with my remote and check it, then turn it off. I really need to turn that thing down I suppose. A minor trip to one of three sensors will give a warn away chirp and give me one beep on te pager. A full trip sets it off and gives me full warning up to a 1/2 mile away, even inside steel & concrete buildings.

http://www.gorilla-auto.com/motorcycle.alarms

06spidey2
08-16-2008, 09:22 AM
How bulky is the two way paging system control? Mine has the option to install it, but the pics made it look like it was bigger than my hand. Adjusting the sensitivity is pretty easy: start by pressing the unlock/disarm button once, then press & hold the "F" key for three seconds. Then scroll through the 7 levels of sensitivity with the unlock button. You can also override the two-stage shock sensor by pressing lock button 3x within five seconds. I had to do this while they were practicing at the Airshow yesterday. Some F18's were doing flying formations, etc, and it set my alarm warning off a few times.

TiminIndy
08-16-2008, 08:11 PM
How bulky is the two way paging system control?

It's very small. I keep mine in my pocket next to my cell phone.

2'' x 1.25" x 5/8" thick

06spidey2
08-16-2008, 08:22 PM
Looks like another item to add to the list. Thanks much!:peace:

shorty08
08-20-2008, 01:50 PM
well got the alarm and installed it god its loud a absolute bargain at 20 quid...real glad i got it and it tiny and its armed drawing current is 7ma...

jonnyandrews
08-20-2008, 05:57 PM
well got the alarm and installed it god its loud a absolute bargain at 20 quid...real glad i got it and it tiny and its armed drawing current is 7ma...

Is it easy to install? Also, how long does it take?

Thanks!

Snugg
08-20-2008, 06:13 PM
How much did the Gorilla with 2-way paging cost?

06spidey2
08-20-2008, 06:39 PM
Prices are across the board, from $115-$180. I did a google search, amazon, etc. I was looking as I wanted to pick up the remote, as it was listed as an option on my box, but looks like its not available, as a separate item. They are located in So Cal, so I will be calling when I get a chance to try & order direct.

shorty08
08-21-2008, 01:38 AM
it is real easy to install, get a diagram for it in the box but its easy takes about a hour and half that includes removing and re fitting plastics...