PDA

View Full Version : Vibrating/rattling noise

LKB3rd
07-18-2008, 05:31 PM
Ok, I am getting close to being all questioned out, so don't worry... :)
So now, my scoot is running really well, it seems to be improving in speed and response the more I ride it, the sputtering appears to be cured, BUT
I get a vibrating rattling noise that I have a hard time pinpointing where it is coming from. It sounds like it might be coming from the variator area, or possible out of the exhaust. It happens when I apply throttle.
Are there any places I should check for loosening up? I used to work as a bicycle mechanic, and on certain new parts you'd need to adjust and tighten after they settled in when new. Any thoughts on this? It has 500 or so miles on it, and I changed the gear oil myself and didn't take it in for its 312 mile maintenance, because they said it would cost $100 dollars, and frankly that irritates me.
Thanks in advance

MisterSprinkles
07-18-2008, 05:34 PM
So now, my scoot is running really well, it seems to be improving in speed and response the more I ride it, the sputtering appears to be cured, BUT
I get a vibrating rattling noise that I have a hard time pinpointing where it is coming from. It sounds like it might be coming from the variator area, or possible out of the exhaust. It happens when I apply throttle.
Are there any places I should check for loosening up? I used to work as a bicycle mechanic, and on certain new parts you'd need to adjust and tighten after they settled in when new. Any thoughts on this? It has 500 or so miles on it, and I changed the gear oil myself and didn't take it in for its 312 mile maintenance, because they said it would cost $100 dollars, and frankly that irritates me.
Thanks in advance

300 mile service is just a gear oil change anyways basically so no worries.

The vibrating sound is hard to pinpoint. You have the stock exhaust?

If you take the variator cover off and run the bike on the stand is the sound louder?