PDA

View Full Version : Mysterious words on display



athelstan
06-21-2007, 01:33 PM
Whenever I first switch on I get the words "Remember to insert your user code" appearing at the bottom of the display. I can't find anything that I understand in the handbook. Could anybody enlighten me please.

Elvis
06-21-2007, 02:10 PM
Whenever I first switch on I get the words "Remember to insert your user code" appearing at the bottom of the display. I can't find anything that I understand in the handbook. Could anybody enlighten me please.

when the bike is new you need to insert a user code in case you lose your key but you can ignore this, nothing will happen or just insert a user code in the menu list (i think)

TOMO Strada
06-21-2007, 05:21 PM
I agree with Elvis,no panic!

athelstan
06-22-2007, 02:24 AM
Thanks Elvis and Tomo, I'll ignore it.

Elvis
06-22-2007, 07:16 AM
Thanks Elvis and Tomo, I'll ignore it.

But if you do want to enter one go to
menu--> settings-->code modifications
and enter your 5 digit code, then your message will disappear
remember to write your code some were but don't worry if you lose it you can reset the code with inserting the 2 keys you got.
In my manual (UK language) it is all written in page 43-44
but don't ask me for what is it good for because i don't know :)

Panda
06-22-2007, 04:22 PM
It's so you can over ride the immobiliser if you have a problem.

cogsy
06-22-2007, 08:56 PM
Nice one Panda, thats good to remember, I didnt know what it was for either.
Keep the messages coming in lads, I've been away from home for 2 months and another month to do, the nearest I get to the bike is reading this forum which lightens up my day! Looking forward to getting out and about on it.
Cogsy

Clotted Cream
06-23-2007, 01:55 AM
So can you put in any numbers like a PIN code for your bank card?

Kev

Panda
06-23-2007, 06:53 AM
Yes, needs to be 5 digits though.

Clotted Cream
06-26-2007, 01:22 AM
Just put my number in. I was beginning to get annoyed with the 'Please insert your code message'.

Kev

DonFanatico
06-26-2007, 01:36 AM
What do I put in to the insurance quotes online about what security devices it has? It's an immobilizer isn't it? what make and model?

I am picking up my 2007 strada soon and wanted to ge a few quotes in.

Panda
06-26-2007, 09:37 AM
"Factory Fitted" is the closest most companies have for the immobiliser. Try Lexham, they are Aprilia specialist - been cheapest for me 2 years in a row and they are nice people to deal with.