Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Contact enhancer

apriliaforum expert

Contact enhancer

Recently I've been looking for a way to minimize the increased resistance effects that I suspect low cost connectors have on the electrical circuits of my Futura. I was looking for a solution that went beyond the usual keep-the-connector-clean and/or use dielectric grease.
    A friend suggested I google up contact enhancer and a lot of info turned up which might be useful. I've selected one which some of you might find interesting-

http://www.intendedacceleration.com/html/tip_14.html

This isn't a contact cleaner or dielectric grease, but something else which claims to increase conductivity and improve connector reliability.
    John

Great Tip

Now THAT my friend is good information- I may just buy those products to treat my wiring harnesses!

Let's put a stickie on this thread.

I've been using the DeoxIT for several years with good results. The Stabilant is popular on my BMW car list but I haven't tried it yet.
    I will say that the large brass male & female connectors used in the brown connector are not "cheap connectors". The Falco rectifier is identical to ours except it uses a smaller brown connector & standard size normal spades. Evidently the factory felt the Futuras higher output system required the larger spades. Also it's worth noting that only the Futura seems to have the "hot brown connector" problem even though the Falcos do have the low charge problem. Not every Futura has a serious hbc problem. Even when my wiring was only allowing 12.6v to get to the battery my brown connector would get hot but it never came close to melting.
    John B.
    02 Ash Black w/Staintunes, PC3 w/custom map, Evo Filter, Mille Air Boot, derestricted air box, Heli-Bars, Wilbers shock, new rectifier, Scottoiler, heated grips, T'meister, c/f frt. fender & hugger.

apriliaforum Junkie
    RE HBC