Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 2009 shiver cat glowing red after short ride

apriliaforum newb

Question 2009 shiver cat glowing red after short ride

Good morning
    this is my first time posting on this forum.
    Recently purchased a 2009 Shiver with 23000 km on the clock .
    After riding it home on purchasing bike , private sale , I noticed smoke coming from under the seat .
    removed the seat and found that the smoke was coming from under the plastic cover holding the
    battery and wiring loom .
    Anyway to shorten the story ,I found all the heat resistant matting had disintegrated and the smoke was from the plastic smouldering .
    So replaced all heat resistant matting .
    Have just been for a quick ride and have found the exhaust cat glowing red hot , this is probably why mating disintegrated .
    The ride was in sport mode , bike feels very flat and gutless in rain and touring mode?
    Yes did take the bike for a ride before purchasing , but was a short ride around local roads ,so didn't really get up to op temp .
    But got it at a good price ( now I know why ) and was willing to spend some time and money on it .
    Any help with this problem would be greatly appreciated
    Thanks
    Kevin

Get a decat pipe. Keep it simple.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
    2014 DD 750 ABS - Spark exhaust, Arrow decat, headers (all ceramic coated), BMC filter, FatDuc, BikeMaster DLFP16-BS LiFePO battery, GPR steering damper, DD 1200 fully adjustable rear shock w/spring swap, 2016 Tuono Factory wheels, 15/44 520 conversion (PBR/Superlite/DID), Strada-7 fork preload adjusters, Samco 2-piece hose kit w/clamps, Engine Ice, Renazco Racing seat, EvoTech tidy tail, Aprilia grab handles, shorty levers, crank-case breather mod, evap-can delete... and a Rapid Bike EVO on order...

apriliaforum newb
    Morning
    thanks for speedy reply.
    what is involved in fitting a de- cat apart from the obvious of changing the pipe ?