Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: So why wouldn't I want roo leathers?

apriliaforum Junkie aftriathlete's Avatar

So why wouldn't I want roo leathers?

As a newly promoted expert, I'm starting to shop around for my first set of custom leathers, and I would love to get something lighter than the 15 lb Arlen Ness set I've had since I started riding track. So who has had roo leathers, and what are your experiences with them?

I'm looking into a couple different brands here in the US, mainly Hazardous, Ballistik, and Comet. All appear to have their suits made in Pakistan, so no one has an advantage over the other from what I can tell, although it's not completely clear yet which have removable liners, which is a must for me. In talking to a very seasoned racer I have a lot of respect for though (in other words, he's old), he says to stay away from roo leather as it doesn't hold up to sweat and doesn't hold up to as many crashes as a set of cow leathers would.

Thoughts?
    2016 RSV4 RR Race Bike

apriliaforum Member
    I don't know about the sweat issue but the old racer is definitely right about a 100% roo suit not holding up like cow leather to multiple crashes. Sportbike Track Gear had a video about all of the nitty gritty details. Professional racers don't care as their leather sponsor gives them leathers and they want the absolute lightest suit. I have a Teknics suit and it is 40% roo but not in any of the likely to crash areas.

apriliaforum expert
    I had a Spidi roo suit...never crashed in it though. Definitely comfortable, but felt 'thin'.

I've worn about every off the shelf suit, and the Spidi is my suit of choice. Track wind pro and Track wind pro evo. Made from special italian cow. lol.
    Weighs 10 lbs for an average size suit.
    Current rigs:

'16 Tuono RR -street
    '13 RSV4 -race
    '13 Harley Davidson Night Rod Special
    '13 Yamaha WR450F
    '12 GSXR 600 - race
    '07 GSXR 750 - race
    '03 KDX 200
    '17 Tao Tao Hellcat - pit bike