Thread: '75 Laverda 1000 3C

apriliaforum newb

'75 Laverda 1000 3C

Hello all, as my username states, I'm new to the motorcycling world and was wondering if I could get some information on a bike I'm interested in. The 1975 Laverda 1000 3C definitely looks like a sweet ride and from what I've read, which is as much I could find online, it sounds just as good. I'm wondering what actual users have to say about it? I would love to hear anything about it since I'm really interested in buying one. The seller says that it's in perfect condition, but I'll still get it checked by a mechanic of course. I welcome all information, thanks!
    Name:  6937240.jpg
Views: 1579
Size:  54.3 KB

With all due respect if you are a 'New Biker' why in the name of all that's holy would you choose a very large, for its time very powerful, obsolete, rare motorbike with extremely limited parts availability and questionable handling and brakes as your first ride?

Laverda died in the early nineties, a couple of unsuccessful 'Re-Launches' were attempted but the over-bored twins they produced had a reputation for fragility and the name was eventually bought by Aprilia and now is only a footnote in Piaggio's archive of names.

Apart from their rarity and the scarcity of spares for the triples they are difficult to jet and their electrical system can best be described as 'Quirky'! Yes, they are a pretty thing and back in the day when I was working on them they were quite the weapon but they are not now and never were a 'Daily Driver'. If you do opt to purchase I hope you have deep pockets. Unless you are happy doing all your work yourself they can be very costly.

Pete
    Professional Goat Burster.

As pete said, older Italian bikes are indeed quirky and they are eye candy. Actually getting to your destination was considered an unexpected bonus.
    Loud Bikes Rule
    '12 Suzuki DR650, '02 aprilia RSVR, '02 aprilia Falco
    '99 bimota db4, 98 Moto guzzi V10 Centauro,