Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: User code

  1. #1
    apriliaforum newb
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    15

    User code

    When I switch my T4 on it gives me a message “remember to insert your user code”

    Can anyone enlighten me on what its asking for?

    Cheers

  2. #2
    apriliaforum prov-nov
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Gold Coast Australia
    Posts
    74
    its a 5 digit code you put in as added security. go into menu select settings then re-set user code or something like that. It will ask you the old code that is five zero's then you put in your 5 digit code after that it will never ask you again. Just keep number safe as it is needed some timed for maintenance. Hope this helps

  3. #3
    apriliaforum newb
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    South Australia
    Posts
    15
    Cheers seanie, all done, thanks for that

  4. #4
    apriliaforum Junkie falkdal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    442
    I talked to my dealer about this yesterday. This security code locks the dash so that no one else (including the dealer) can access your dash until you provide the code. This means if you ever forget it or (blasphemy) sell the bike and fail to give the new owner the code, the bike can't be serviced. To fix it you will need a new ignition system, new dash, new keys coded, and something else. In short, huge hassle and expense if you forget the code. He's advised all his buyers not to enter the code because it's of limited use (the bike immobilizer and all other system work just fine without it) and you don't run any risk of locking yourself out of the bike.

  5. #5
    apriliaforum prov-nov
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Gold Coast Australia
    Posts
    74
    Your dealer isnt exactly right you can re-set the code as long as you have both the original keys.

  6. #6
    apriliaforum Junkie falkdal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    San Francisco
    Posts
    442
    You're right, he did mention that, I just forgot it last night when I posted. :-)

  7. #7
    apriliaforum Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    195
    Quote Originally Posted by seanie View Post
    Your dealer isnt exactly right you can re-set the code as long as you have both the original keys.
    Exactly! With 2 keys in hands you can always reset the code.

  8. #8
    apriliaforum Member Rayzor61's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yardley, PA USA
    Posts
    186
    Whats the other code about, (12412) that is in diagnostic menu? reset coupons?
    TRIUMPH NUTHEAD, APRILIA NEWBIE!

    Current Stable

    2012 Triumph Tiger Explorer 1200 - Main Rider
    2009 Tuono Orange Crush - For Sale

    Previous Kickers:
    2011 Aprilia Shiver
    2012 Tuono V4R
    2009 Aprilia Mana 850
    2009 Harley Street Glide
    2009 Suzuki DRZ 400S
    2011 Ducati Multi S Touring
    2007 V2 Tuono Dialblo Black
    2002 - 2007 Triumph Speed triples (6)
    2008 Triumph Scrambler
    2010 Triumph Thunderbird
    2010 Triumph Tiger 1050
    1979 to Current - Triumphs entire Lineup since 1979
    2010 KTM Adventure R
    KTM Supermoto 950 R
    The list goes on!

  9. #9
    Max Lean Angle / Administrator Ed / AF1 Racing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    New Braunfels, TX
    Posts
    7,333
    Quote Originally Posted by Rayzor61 View Post
    Whats the other code about, (12412) that is in diagnostic menu? reset coupons?
    yes, that is diagnostic code....open up a new set of menus, dash errors, MPH-KPH settings, and reset coupons = reset service indicator (at 625 miles, etc).
    AF1 Racing
    Ed Cook AF1 ed@af1racing.com
    AF1 Racing, inc / ApriliaForum.com
    Main New Braunfels dealership: 699 W San Antonio St, New Braunfels, TX 78130
    Austin Downtown Dealership: 304 E Cesar Chavez, Austin, TX 78701
    toll free:877-626-3966 direct:830-626-3966 fax:830-626-3969


    AF1 Racing Online Store

  10. #10
    apriliaforum Member Rayzor61's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yardley, PA USA
    Posts
    186
    somehow I got into one of these screens in the process of trying to reset my "new user code" and I touched a reset button or something (dont remember what one) and it knocked my odometer mileage back to zero. Fortunately, the miles were exactly 125 at the time so adding that to my current mileage gives me the correct overall. I guess it really dosnt matter once I have the first service done. I'm just wondering if the light will come on at 500 miles now or at the 625 mark where it should go on. It must be a defect because nobody (not even a dealer) should be able to reset mileage. I'm also wondering if my service light goes on at the 625 interval like it should, will the mileage be errased again when the technician changes my oil and resets the service light? Anybody have this happen? There is nothing wrong with the intrumentation and I'm not getting any error codes or service lights; nothing. Everything worksd as it should.....
    TRIUMPH NUTHEAD, APRILIA NEWBIE!

    Current Stable

    2012 Triumph Tiger Explorer 1200 - Main Rider
    2009 Tuono Orange Crush - For Sale

    Previous Kickers:
    2011 Aprilia Shiver
    2012 Tuono V4R
    2009 Aprilia Mana 850
    2009 Harley Street Glide
    2009 Suzuki DRZ 400S
    2011 Ducati Multi S Touring
    2007 V2 Tuono Dialblo Black
    2002 - 2007 Triumph Speed triples (6)
    2008 Triumph Scrambler
    2010 Triumph Thunderbird
    2010 Triumph Tiger 1050
    1979 to Current - Triumphs entire Lineup since 1979
    2010 KTM Adventure R
    KTM Supermoto 950 R
    The list goes on!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •