Thread: A sign of problems to come

apriliaforum prov-nov

A sign of problems to come

Just had the first glitch with the V4.
    Coming down a hill to a large roundabout, I knocked her back a couple of gears, cars in front stopped at the entry point, so I pulled in the clutch to knock it into 1st.

Suddenly, no power, bike literally switches off.
    I coast to a halt, switch the ignition off then on, press the kill switch off then on and then the bike fires first time.

Road another 50 kms without a hiccup.

Has anyone had similar happen, is this a sign of a sensor on the way out or some other 'popular' gremlin ??

I had the same issue happen a few times. I had everything checked out, it seems to only be during these coasts in traffic like you experienced. Only has happened in Track mode. Think it may be a sensitivity type issue with the throttle. Just my .02cents, I am not an expert.
    White RSV4 R-Akrapovic S/O, CRG Levers, PUIG DB, Carbon Kit from Austin Racing, NERA wheels, tankslapper.biz, Motovation Crash Kit, R/G Tail Tidy

It happened to me once on the RSV4 during first 100km. But 11 months later, the problem never occurred again

I don't think I've had the problem you describe, mine did stall really easily as the motor was real tight for the first 1k miles.

I have had my share of frustating niggles but over the last 1.5k the bike seems to have settled itself down and loosened up.

aprilia released a new map a few weeks ago, it helps with the low rpm fuelling of the bike, and cures a starting problem some folks have had - might be worth checking you have this new map installed - it may help.
    Sold: Black RSV 02
    Sold: Silver Shiver 09
    Present: Black RS250 98
    Present: Black Tuono V4R APRC 11

apriliaforum prov-nov
    Thanks guys, she's in for her 1000 service next week so i'll get them to check the mapping.

I wouldn't worry a bunch about a single stall during the first 1000km.
    CURRENT BIKE
    2011 RSV4R APRC