Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Speedo reset to MPH?

  1. #1
    apriliaforum Junkie WyoRidr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cody,Wyoming
    Posts
    410

    Speedo reset to MPH?

    Tried looking for the link but can't find it.Just picked up a 2009 RS125 with 630 miles and need to reset to MPH from KPH.Thanks.

  2. #2
    apriliaforum expert maddad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Melbourne AUS
    Posts
    5,318
    HOW TO SELECT KM OR MILES
    Upon power-on with the key set to , hold down the
    MODE button for more than ten seconds to change the unit
    of measurement from kilometres (Km) to miles (Mi);
    selection applies to both odometer (ODO) and speedometer.
    Readout remains blank for five seconds and then the unit of
    measurement begins to flash.
    If the MODE button is released before 10 seconds, the current unit of measurement is retainedI can't get mine to work but ...good luck I think mines Bust.
    A parting Glass.

  3. #3
    apriliaforum Junkie WyoRidr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cody,Wyoming
    Posts
    410
    Thanks

  4. #4
    apriliaforum Junkie WyoRidr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cody,Wyoming
    Posts
    410
    umm...I can't find a mode button.

  5. #5
    apriliaforum expert iroc07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    ATOWN, PA
    Posts
    692
    little button under the horn and highbeam switch on the left bar. Its like an add-on, that looks like it was purchased from radioshack and stuck on there.

    I tried mine and it doesnt work either, so good luck, but dont get your hopes up.
    01' Mille - It's BLUE!- R.I.P.
    09' RS 125 Spain's #1 Lorenzo Rep- SOLD
    04' RSVR FACTORY - SOLD
    10' RSV4 FACTORY - 194HP AT THE TIRE!!!!!!!!!


    May the fire in my eyes light the way for me.
    May the bridges that I burn take out my enemies.

  6. #6
    apriliaforum Junkie WyoRidr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Cody,Wyoming
    Posts
    410
    Ahh...that's what that's for?!!!!Thanks.

  7. #7
    apriliaforum expert iroc07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    ATOWN, PA
    Posts
    692
    did it work?
    01' Mille - It's BLUE!- R.I.P.
    09' RS 125 Spain's #1 Lorenzo Rep- SOLD
    04' RSVR FACTORY - SOLD
    10' RSV4 FACTORY - 194HP AT THE TIRE!!!!!!!!!


    May the fire in my eyes light the way for me.
    May the bridges that I burn take out my enemies.

  8. #8
    apriliaforum prov-nov
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Harvard, MA
    Posts
    54
    That ten second hold on the mode button didn't work for me either. Maybe part of the 2009 derestricted package is a commitment to the metric system.

  9. #9
    apriliaforum prov-nov
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    edwardsville il
    Posts
    48
    Hi Guys!
    I fought this for months trying everything possible. Here is what finally worked for me.

    1) disconnect both pos and neg connections at the battery
    2) reconnect the pos connection to battery
    3) turn on ignition switch
    4) push and hold the mode button
    5) reconnect the neg connection to battery while still holding the mode button and ignition turned on

    you have to do exactly what this says. I could not believe the part about both battery posts disconnects but it is correct. I will never understand what taking off the frame ground does after the pos has already been removed. I did try it by just taking off the positive cable and it did not reset. So like it says take off both connections to the battery. This info was from AF1 a couple of years ago. Mine has read MPh for two years now, over 5000 street miles. Good Luck!

  10. #10
    apriliaforum expert maddad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Melbourne AUS
    Posts
    5,318
    What a weird way ,I will try it ...Italians sure are strange wiring guys.
    A parting Glass.

  11. #11
    apriliaforum prov-nov RC's Mille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    5 Min. from IMS Indy,IN
    Posts
    72
    Im trying this tonite, will see
    thanks


    It is easier to ask for forgiveness than it is to ask for permission


  12. #12
    apriliaforum prov-nov
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Harvard, MA
    Posts
    54
    It worked for me

  13. #13
    apriliaforum prov-nov RC's Mille's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    5 Min. from IMS Indy,IN
    Posts
    72
    I try about 3 times and finally work,
    You need to keep holding the mode button for a little while after reconnecting the neg of the batt, some numbers showed on the display but no lights at all until it resets then it goes Thru the normal power up sequence then MPH showed on display
    thanks a lot.


    It is easier to ask for forgiveness than it is to ask for permission


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •