Page 3 of 69 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 1034

Thread: TuneEcu, Free injection mapping and diagnostic for Caponord/Futura.

  1. #31
    apriliaforum Junkie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Redwood City, CA - USA
    Posts
    403
    Quote Originally Posted by nav18tor View Post
    I wish I had ordered the cables and connectors earlier
    I told you... and gave enough warning

  2. #32
    apriliaforum expert ELMOSISU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cottage Grove, OR
    Posts
    1,005
    Quote Originally Posted by crenninger View Post
    click "ECU" / "Read Map" and report back what happens.

    Make sure the green square in the bottom right corner is blinking,

    Red = not connected
    orange - connecting
    green - connected.
    I had full flashing green squares during this process.

    The "read map" was greyed out and I could not do anything with it.

    Any ideas?
    2006 Caponord - Rich's custom seat, drilled stock pipes, Catfish "429" map, Braking wave rotors, Rally Raid Bars/fender, Ricor Intiminators, Skidmarx custom windscreen ( propane torch special ), Bags Connection tank bag
    2004 Moto Guzzi Breva 750ie

  3. #33
    apriliaforum expert ELMOSISU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cottage Grove, OR
    Posts
    1,005
    also, does it matter if the bike is running or not , in order to read the map? I tried it both ways, but no go.

    Windows XP

    Tuneboy cable and driver.
    2006 Caponord - Rich's custom seat, drilled stock pipes, Catfish "429" map, Braking wave rotors, Rally Raid Bars/fender, Ricor Intiminators, Skidmarx custom windscreen ( propane torch special ), Bags Connection tank bag
    2004 Moto Guzzi Breva 750ie

  4. #34
    apriliaforum Junkie
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Redwood City, CA - USA
    Posts
    403
    Quote Originally Posted by ELMOSISU View Post
    also, does it matter if the bike is running or not , in order to read the map? I tried it both ways, but no go.

    Windows XP

    Tuneboy cable and driver.
    Engine OFF, kill switch ON, Ignition ON.

    well if you get the green flashing light, you should be able to read the maps.
    At least many have been able to.

  5. #35
    apriliaforum expert 2pist's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Utah
    Posts
    1,854
    I think you have to have a map loaded in the program before you can read a map?

    01 RSV, Micron TI w/TI chip
    06 Triumph Sprint ST
    01 YZ 250

  6. #36
    apriliaforum expert ELMOSISU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cottage Grove, OR
    Posts
    1,005
    Quote Originally Posted by crenninger View Post
    Engine OFF, kill switch ON, Ignition ON.

    well if you get the green flashing light, you should be able to read the maps.
    At least many have been able to.
    Engine was on during most of my fiddling. I'll try again. I have another laptop with windows 7 on it and I can try that too. Thanks again for the continued advice. Very cool!
    2006 Caponord - Rich's custom seat, drilled stock pipes, Catfish "429" map, Braking wave rotors, Rally Raid Bars/fender, Ricor Intiminators, Skidmarx custom windscreen ( propane torch special ), Bags Connection tank bag
    2004 Moto Guzzi Breva 750ie

  7. #37
    apriliaforum expert moto-abruzzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Italy & Oxford UK
    Posts
    1,328
    Elmo

    2pist is right, you need to load a map first .... go to the upload page and pick a tune that best suits your bike..

    http://www.tomhamburg.net/Aprilia_Tune_list.html

    The latest tunes are:

    050428 if you don't have cat converters (bulges in the exhaust link pipes behind the heat shileds) - or

    050429 if you do have cats.

    Reconnect to the bike ... as Crenninger said, ignition - on, kill switch - run and engine off and make sure you have good battery voltage! Once communications are made, you should see the 'Read ECU' ready to use. As it uploads watch the green bar at the bottom of the window showing the read status.

    You should now have TunECU with YOUR bikes map displayed ..... next thing, save it!

    And don't forget to tell us what the map number is.......good luck!

    Crenninger

    However, Alaine must have code in place to make sure the 'missing' data fields match the one you can change.
    Thanks for confirming that ... it took a few loads and reloads to satisfy myself it wasn't going to produce garbage when I changed them. As I said, I like 'keep-it-simple' .... why have to change 7 boxes, when 2 will do!
    03 Rally-Raid, 08 dogs, 05 cats, 09 chickens, 08 Kestrel ....and a goat declared SORN


  8. #38
    apriliaforum Junkie vilaishima's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    383
    McSpafter and I are still trying to source some of the connectors, etc locally.

    Once we do, we'll email our maps as well. I've been meaning to head down to a local Aprilia dealer to get the latest map loaded as I've been getting a hell of a lot of pinging lately. Hopefully a new map will sort some things out.

    Will the Catfish Dyno Tuned maps maps be joining the list of available maps once everything is confirmed stable and tested?
    2004 Oyster Gray Caponord
    Kappa High Screen
    Aprilia Crashbars
    Aprilia Handguards
    Aprilia Centrestand
    Polisport High-mount front fender
    HPR Concepts LED driving lights
    Radiator + oil cooler guards
    Heidenau K60 + Mitas E-07
    Ariete angled valves
    Bags Connection Daypack II
    Mods: Gutted Pipes, af1 braided fuel line + connectors, charging mod, fork spacers.

  9. #39
    apriliaforum prov-nov
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    31
    Hallo,

    Could someone save the Catfish map (Caponord with O2 sensor) to TuneECU format from Caponord?

    Thank you very much!

  10. #40
    apriliaforum expert nerald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Cumbria
    Posts
    607
    Quote Originally Posted by otompotom View Post
    Hallo,

    Could someone save the Catfish map (Caponord with O2 sensor) to TuneECU format from Caponord?

    Thank you very much!
    I think you will have to wait until Catfish has tested TuneECU with his maps 1st before they will be released in this format.
    08 ETV 1000 Caponord
    Multistrada 1200

  11. #41
    apriliaforum expert ELMOSISU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cottage Grove, OR
    Posts
    1,005
    Quote Originally Posted by moto-abruzzo View Post
    Elmo

    2pist is right, you need to load a map first .... go to the upload page and pick a tune that best suits your bike..

    http://www.tomhamburg.net/Aprilia_Tune_list.html

    The latest tunes are:

    050428 if you don't have cat converters (bulges in the exhaust link pipes behind the heat shileds) - or

    050429 if you do have cats.

    Reconnect to the bike ... as Crenninger said, ignition - on, kill switch - run and engine off and make sure you have good battery voltage! Once communications are made, you should see the 'Read ECU' ready to use. As it uploads watch the green bar at the bottom of the window showing the read status.

    You should now have TunECU with YOUR bikes map displayed ..... next thing, save it!

    And don't forget to tell us what the map number is.......good luck!

    Crenninger



    Thanks for confirming that ... it took a few loads and reloads to satisfy myself it wasn't going to produce garbage when I changed them. As I said, I like 'keep-it-simple' .... why have to change 7 boxes, when 2 will do!
    Got it! I assumed that the tuneECU 'read' the current 50429 map that is in my ECU already. What you're saying is to 'reload' the .hex file version provided by TuneECU?
    2006 Caponord - Rich's custom seat, drilled stock pipes, Catfish "429" map, Braking wave rotors, Rally Raid Bars/fender, Ricor Intiminators, Skidmarx custom windscreen ( propane torch special ), Bags Connection tank bag
    2004 Moto Guzzi Breva 750ie

  12. #42
    apriliaforum expert moto-abruzzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Italy & Oxford UK
    Posts
    1,328
    When you first start TuneECU on your computer it doesn't know if you have a Triumph Rocket 3, a KTM 990 or a Caponord ...... so you have to 'kick-start' it by loading a map for your bike.

    Once it knows the bike it's to work with it's happy.....
    03 Rally-Raid, 08 dogs, 05 cats, 09 chickens, 08 Kestrel ....and a goat declared SORN


  13. #43
    apriliaforum expert ELMOSISU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Cottage Grove, OR
    Posts
    1,005
    Very good info for me the newbie!

    Just one more question, ( because I'm a pain in the Arse)........

    When I hook up the TuneECU program, it takes a few seconds to ' convert ' over to where is does indeed pull up my map number, ECU serial, and even changes over to the Aprilia logos on the virtual tachometer. Why can it not then 'read' the map that it is already recognizing?
    ( see upper left)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	tuneecu map not present.jpg 
Views:	577 
Size:	78.9 KB 
ID:	151345  

    2006 Caponord - Rich's custom seat, drilled stock pipes, Catfish "429" map, Braking wave rotors, Rally Raid Bars/fender, Ricor Intiminators, Skidmarx custom windscreen ( propane torch special ), Bags Connection tank bag
    2004 Moto Guzzi Breva 750ie

  14. #44
    apriliaforum expert moto-abruzzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Italy & Oxford UK
    Posts
    1,328
    Again ... no base map.

    Can I assume you have uploaded a .hex map file and stored it on your computer somewhere?

    Without connecting to the bike ... have you opened TuneECU, clicked on 'Map Edit' and then 'File' / 'Open Map File' and called the map you saved from the website.

    The map window should now be full of coloured data blocks and you should see at the very bottom of your window, a text line of the path to the map file.

    as an example, something like:

    C:/TuneECU/Maps/Caponord/050429Map.hex

    But it will of course match the path to your own stored file.

    Name:  Base map.jpg
Views: 2451
Size:  88.3 KB

    If you can now confirm you have a valid map loaded, you should be able to connect to the bike ...from the 'Map Edit' window, select 'ECU' / 'Read Map'

    I hope this helps Elmo ... keep with it!
    Last edited by moto-abruzzo; 11-15-2010 at 11:37 AM. Reason: Corrected bad information - sorry all!!
    03 Rally-Raid, 08 dogs, 05 cats, 09 chickens, 08 Kestrel ....and a goat declared SORN


  15. #45
    Honest always, feared often Micah / AF1 Racing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Canyon Lake, TX USA.
    Posts
    17,714
    Fascinating stuff and great work guys! Now if only you could add additional sensors...the perfect storm! I have always thought the lack of a MAP sensor was a poor choice by Sagem.
    Diminished expectations is the key to happiness in life.

    Micah Shoemaker
    AF1 Racing
    699 W. San Antonio
    New Braunfels, TX 78130
    830-626-3966
    micah@af1racing.com

Page 3 of 69 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •