Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: UK Bike sale Scam?

  1. #1
    apriliaforum expert tuono07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cuming GA (Atlanta Area)
    Posts
    2,549

    UK Bike sale Scam?

    I posted my 93 CBR1000 on a list called Marks Moto.and got a reply from a guy named Smith Harden in the UK. He claims to want the bike shipped overseas and will send a certified check for the amount plus shipping. I then pay the shipper to ship it to the UK.
    Anyone hear of this guy and/or is it a scam???
    Claims US bike and cars are hot in the UK.

    I'm going to suggest PayPal and he handle the shipping himself. Shouldd clear him out if it's a scam.

  2. #2
    apriliaforum expert venturaII's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Shrewsbury upon Worcestershire
    Posts
    678,951,977
    Sure sounds like a scam to me. Strike up some email exchanges discussing the potential sale, and see if there's crappy grammar - if so, then it's prolly a variation of the old Nigerian 419 scam. And even if the guy is genuinely English, it still sounds fishy to me - I can't really see a bike that was also offered in England as being "hot" just because it's American....
    "How often does the train go by?"
    "So often that you won't even notice it."

    "I put on my robe and wizard hat..."

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UPQDW6ZOpA


    "the most fundamental fact about the ideas of the political left is that they do not work. therefore we should not be surprised to find the left concentrated in institutions where ideas do not have to work in order to survive." --thomas sowell

  3. #3
    apriliaforum expert Gtrain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,031
    As long as the cheque clears ( I would wait till it does) and the shipping company prices is right then you should be ok.

    But I do agree with you it does sound fishy.
    I know I wouldn't sent a cheque to the states for a bike unseen and fully trusting the seller to ship it to me.

    Maybe pull the funds as soon as the cheque's cleared, that presuming it does

  4. #4
    apriliaforum expert venturaII's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Shrewsbury upon Worcestershire
    Posts
    678,951,977
    I've read stories about people who got bit by 419 scammers - the bank will clear the check, but somehow it comes back to bite them when the bank eventually (several weeks later) figures out that the buyer's bank is either bogus, or there's insufficient funds.

    I know that sounds like it should be the bank's problem since they cleared the check initially, but somehow the seller gets held responsible and screwed for it....undoubtedly some law loophole...

    Do a BUNCH of research at your bank on accepting foreign checks before agreeing to this...
    "How often does the train go by?"
    "So often that you won't even notice it."

    "I put on my robe and wizard hat..."

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5UPQDW6ZOpA


    "the most fundamental fact about the ideas of the political left is that they do not work. therefore we should not be surprised to find the left concentrated in institutions where ideas do not have to work in order to survive." --thomas sowell

  5. #5
    apriliaforum expert tuono07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cuming GA (Atlanta Area)
    Posts
    2,549
    Yea the grammer is what made question it. My father inlaw said that even certified checks have be bogus and it may clear my bank but will come back when the issuing bank cant be found.

    I'm going to tell them PayPal or nothing.

  6. #6
    apriliaforum Member CWATDGE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    NEW MEXICO
    Posts
    226
    its definately a scam and he wont be the last as long as your bike is listed. I sold my Harley recently and the amount of scams was unbelievable. be very careful of these. Chuck

  7. #7
    apriliaforum expert FTM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Portsmouth Uk
    Posts
    6,582
    SCAM, no one is called Smith Hard-on. And you try googling the name Smith.
    FUCK THE MAGS Nuke the whales!


    I see to recall that the ORIGINAL Tuono was around £18000 new......
    Only 200 of them made (and yours ain't one of them FTM.....) worldwide.

    The Male Whale

  8. #8
    taking a breather... MikeT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Surfing the underbelly...
    Posts
    12,711
    Quote Originally Posted by tuono07
    I posted my 93 CBR1000...Anyone hear of this guy and/or is it a scam???...I'm going to suggest PayPal and he handle the shipping himself. Shouldd clear him out if it's a scam.
    Paypal gives you NO protection unless it is an ebay sale and ALL the ebay policies and rules are followed - even then it offers little protection.

    Just saw an immaculate '93 CBR1000F for sale in the UK for £1300 - and there are a bunch around the £750-1500 mark (US$1500-3000).

    Shipping and duty alone would be upwards of £500 for the bike, so unless you're selling it for less than US$1000, it's a scam.

  9. #9
    apriliaforum expert tuono07's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Cuming GA (Atlanta Area)
    Posts
    2,549
    Yep, Got three more offers to buy my bike and ship it. I;m pulling it off the list.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •