Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 158

Thread: please read this before installing a PC3 or updating your ECU

  1. #1
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    13,939
    I decided to post this list because I receive so many PM's from people wanting to know about ECU maps, ECU software updates and PC3 confusions.

    This only applies to 04-09 RSVR & 06-09 Tuono equipped with the Siemens/VDO engine management.

    Map-1 or Map-2 and exhaust:
    Aprilia included the option of switching the ECU mapping between two modes.
    Engine variant 1, aka Map-1 and engine variant 2 or Map-2.

    The bikes are shipped with Map-1 enabled as standard.
    This is a closed loop mode that uses the Lambda exhaust probe to help maintain a lean A/F ratio for low exhaust emissions. This mode is tuned to work with the stock mufflers and Cat converters.

    Map-2 is for use with racing mufflers and without Cat converters. It is tuned for performance and is not emissions friendly because both the fuel and ignition maps have been optimized for race use. It does not use the Lambda (runs in open loop mode) but the probe must remain connected.

    Switching between the two modes is only possible with the AXONE or the Navigator.

    ECU Software updates:
    The software or firmware in the ECU can also be updated whenever Aprilia releases a revised/improved version.
    Each of these software updates can be switched between Map-1 and Map-2.

    After updating the ECU, the Throttle Bodies may need to be re-synchronized and idle fuel mixture adjusted with a CO meter if you have an 04 RSV with the very ealy ECU software.
    Be sure to probe each cylinder at the header test ports (not at the muffler outlets).

    There is a password available only to dealers, this password allows access that will permit adjusting the individual cylinders fuel mixture with the AXONE. On some bikes, this may improve how the throttle responds from idle to midrange.

    The AXONE checks to see if you have selected a compatible map before proceeding with the update. It will not allow loading software versions not meant for that model bike.

    ECU software versions:
    The latest AXONE software currently available is 7.0.5 and includes all the maps listed bellow:

    software for early 04-RSVR with three wire timing sensor, AXONE ≥ 5.0.4
    -664582 was the first generation map, ran poorly when switched to map-2
    -664584 (file VD5G684$.BIX) first update and worked very well (first available with AXONE 5.0.2)
    -664586 (file VD5G68B$.BIX) same as the map shipped with 2005 bikes
    -664588 (file VD5G68Z$.BIX) map specifically to work with the EVO-6 race only pipe

    software for later 04-RSVR with two wire timing sensor and 05-RSVR, AXONE ≥ 5.0.4
    -664583 (file VD5L683$.BIX) same as 664584, originally installed in the later 04 bikes
    -664585 (file VD5L68A$.BIX) same as 664586, originally installed in the 2005 bikes
    -664587 (file VD5L68X$.BIX) same as 664588, for use with EVO-6 pipe

    software for 06-09 RSVR, requires AXONE ≥ 5.0.6
    -266536 (file VD5L980$.BIX) originally installed, no updates currently available
    -266538 (file VD5L981$.BIX) for use with EVO-6 pipe

    software for 06-Tuono (US 07), requires AXONE ≥ 5.0.6
    -266531 original map shipped with early production, had issues with throttle response
    -266532 (file VC5L980$.BIX) is the first update

    software for the 07- 09 Tuono (US 07.5), requires AXONE ≥ 5.1.1
    -266533 (file VC5L981$.BIX) original map shipped
    -266534 (file VC5L982$.BIX) for use with EVO-6 pipe

    A replacement ECU is usually empty, without any map and must be uploaded with the appropriate map and re-initialized before it is functional.

    PC3 precautions:
    Before installing a PC3, the closed loop mode must be disabled by switching to engine variant 2 (Map-2).
    If you don’t do this, the ECU will sense the modified A/F ratio (via Lambda probe) and attempt to lean it back out.

    Since there are so many Aprilia ECU maps, and without the AXONE no one knows what bike has what map, you must be careful when installing a PC3 and downloading a map from Dyno Jet or off your friend’s bike.

    The PC3 map is an add-on to the ECU map, a PC3 map from another bike that has down level ECU software will not be correct for a bike with updated ECU software.

    Always have your PC3 installed and custom mapped after setting the ECU to Map-2.

    I hope this will help clear up some of the confusion.

    Amauri

    (this info is current as of 05/15/09)
    Last edited by amauri; 11-15-2016 at 09:12 AM. Reason: updated info

  2. #2
    apriliaforum Member bob57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    171
    please, Amauri:
    I have a 2005 RSVR, but I was obliged to change the two-wires timing sensor by a three-wires one, because I changed my 05 damaged electrical loom and I found only a 2004 one...
    As the connector was a three wires one on the loom, I changed the sensor because ii was more simple for me.
    Am I obliged to get a new map from an axone?
    I noticed that my engine does not run very well at low rpms...

  3. #3
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    13,939
    Your ECU is for a two wire sensor and will not accept a map for the older three wire ECU.

    I don't know if there are any problems associated with using the old sensor & wire loom with the two wire ECU, I've never tried it.

    Your problem with poor running at low RPMs may possibly be fixed by connecting the AXONE and resetting the TPS.
    Did you have this problem before the wiring swap?
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  4. #4
    apriliaforum Member bob57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by amauri
    Your ECU is for a two wire sensor and will not accept a map for the older three wire ECU.
    Are you sure? I thought all ECUs were the same...

    Quote Originally Posted by amauri
    I don't know if there are any problems associated with using the old sensor & wire loom with the two wire ECU, I've never tried it.
    I tried a 04 ECU (I have one) this afternoon, no difference with the 05 one..

    Quote Originally Posted by amauri
    Your problem with poor running at low RPMs may possibly be fixed by connecting the AXONE and resetting the TPS.
    Did you have this problem before the wiring swap,yes?
    I don't know, I bought this bike completly broken, the motor did not turn, keys broken, immobilizer broken...so I found a racing loom and tried to fit it but it was a 04, and differences in temperature sensor and this three wires sensor instead of two...

  5. #5
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    13,939
    The ECU's are not all the same.

    You can't just swap the ECU without using the AXONE to initialize the system and reset the TPS.

    These bikes are not like the old bikes, you must use the AXONE anytime you swap the ECU, TPS, idle control stepper, etc...
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  6. #6
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    13,939
    TPS reset...
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  7. #7
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    13,939
    Quote Originally Posted by bob57
    and differences in temperature sensor and this three wires sensor instead of two...
    The differences in temperature sensor is not a problem.

    The 05 and late 04 uses a Nipondenso sensor, but the early 04 uses a Bosch sensor.

    The Bosch sensors are not very good and frequently failed giving false overtemp indication that caused the ECU to go into "Limp" mode.

    See this post: http://www.apriliaforum.com/forums/s...ighlight=green

    Aprilia sells a connector wire that you can splice into the harness allowing the use of the improved Nipondenso sensor.

    The connector is p/n AP8127776
    Nipondenso sensor p/n AP0274040
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by amauri; 01-08-2007 at 12:09 AM.
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  8. #8
    apriliaforum Member bob57's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    171
    Quote Originally Posted by amauri
    The ECU's are not all the same.

    You can't just swap the ECU without using the AXONE to initialize the system and reset the TPS.

    These bikes are not like the old bikes, you must use the AXONE anytime you swap the ECU, TPS, idle control stepper, etc...
    Yes, I agree and know that, but does this mean that the 04 and 05 ECUs are different in their electronic structure?
    All I heard until this moment is that they are the same, no problem to fit a 04 ECU on a 05 (or 06) bike, you just have to change the map inside.

  9. #9
    apriliaforum prov-nov
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Posts
    73
    Amauri - You have no idea how much I wish this information was available about 6 months ago. Excellent stuff, this sort of info. is invaluable.

    Cheers.
    Work Hard, Play Hard, Ride Harder

  10. #10
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    13,939
    Quote Originally Posted by bob57
    Yes, I agree and know that, but does this mean that the 04 and 05 ECUs are different in their electronic structure?
    All I heard until this moment is that they are the same, no problem to fit a 04 ECU on a 05 (or 06) bike, you just have to change the map inside.
    I'm sure the "electronic structure" is the same but the firmware is not.
    Sure, the 04 ECU will work on the newer bikes, but the AXONE will only let you load the map for that ECU.

    Example:
    If you look at my list of maps above, you'll see that the correct map for the 06 RSVR is 236536. If you try to load that map on a 05 or 04 ECU, the AXONE will not do it.

    That doesn't mean that the bike will not run, but it will not have the correct map.
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  11. #11
    apriliaforum Member MightyMouse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Loveland, OH
    Posts
    161
    They also make an O2 controller so you don't have to change the ECU to open loop or "race mode" as DynoJet explains it. I may be mistaken on this, but it is what is on their site.
    The $50.00 controller is cheaper than going to the dealer for me, since my closest dealer is 6 hours away..

  12. #12
    apriliaforum prov-nov
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    86
    Quote Originally Posted by amauri
    There is a password available only to dealers, that will permit adjusting the individual cylinders fuel mixture with the AXONE.
    Amauri

    do you know of any dealers over there or elsewhere that have this password? our importer can't get it, so we can't adjust the co once we've put them on to map 2.

  13. #13
    taking a breather... Rapamacha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    44
    I've got an '04 Factory with map 2 & a PC III. Is it really necessarry to update the map if you're running a PC III?
    The bike is running just fine, but I was just wondering?

  14. #14
    just another Aprilia fanatic amauri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Westminster, CA - USA
    Posts
    13,939
    If your bike is correctly set to Map-2 and your PC3 is also correctly mapped, you should not update the ECU map.

    If you update the ECU map you will then have to get a new custom map made for the PC3.
    Never accept mediocrity, always demand competence.

    Certified Aprilia Moto Service in Southern California
    Call me at 714 892-4056 for appointment

  15. #15
    apriliaforum Junkie john in sweden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    413
    Amauri you wrote:
    After updating the ECU, the Throttle Bodies may need to be re-synchronized and idle fuel mixture adjusted with a CO meter.
    Be sure to probe each cylinder at the header test ports (not at the muffler outlets).
    There is a password available only to dealers, that will permit adjusting the individual cylinders fuel mixture with the AXONE. On some bikes, this may improve how the throttle responds from idle to midrange.

    and i wonder the throttel bodie value ,,, and CO value ,,
    i have PC3 and custom map,, upgraded firmware with Axone but never adjusting the throttle body and CO ,, but i will soon as i have the values.

    i have open air intake with high performence air filter and very open pipes,, if it depending something.

    greetings from john in sweden.
    Last edited by john in sweden; 05-11-2007 at 04:46 AM.

Page 1 of 11 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •