PDA

View Full Version : Cold Starting problems

cheesey
08-01-2011, 10:55 PM
Small block cold starting.
Is it normally such a pain ?
My bike takes ages to start, then idles fine for a short time, then starts stalling and generally running rough.
After about half a mile it's fine though and runs sweetly once it's warmed up.
It never used to be like this.
It's just started happening.
I've had a good look around and can't see anything obvious.
The only thing I've done recently was to change the fuel tank, but that was very straightforward.
Any thoughts ?

RossGuzzi
08-02-2011, 04:41 AM
Blocked fuel. New tank had crap init?

Check for water in the float bowls of the carbs too. Give them a good clean and try again.

pete roper
08-02-2011, 06:51 AM
I believe its a V7 Racer so no carbs Ross.

This seems to be a recurring issue with many late model SB owners. I have had no experience with it first hand and I live somewhere where it gets really cold at this time of year but a couple of things to ponder.

Firstly the ECU won't go into closed loop until the ambient temperature is >20*C, As detected in the airbox which will get heat from cylinders etc.) and engine temp rises >30*C. Fooling the ATS with a resistor is one way of helping the situation.

Secondly, check the fast idle cam. These rarely come adjusted right from the factory. there are in fact two 'Detentes' on the cam. The mechanism should be adjusted such that when the lever on the handlebar is fully depressed it engages to the second detente. The bike should then start pretty much instantly with zero throttle input, (If its tuned correctly.) once it has started it should idle about 2.7K or so. after a few seconds it should be possible to knock it back to the first detente position which should maintain the idle @ about 1,500-1,600RPM until the CL parameters have been met. At that point the fast idle can be rolled off completely.