PDA

View Full Version : ? about starting issue on 66' vbb

ApriliaNick
08-05-2009, 06:55 AM
Hi guys I'm new to the vespa section but have been in the Sr 50 Aprilia category for a while, anyways I recently fired up my dads 66' vespa 150 VBB It had sat for years till about a month ago I poured fuel in and it fired on the second kick, since then I have to kick it 20-30 times to get it fired up,it gives a hint of starting two to three kicks before it does fire up but seems like it might be an adjustment somewhere,it runs and drives fine but what can I look into, What can I adjust if anything, it's got a new plug and is chocolate brown in color, any help is appreciated

Micah / AF1 Racing
08-05-2009, 10:12 PM
Have you measured compression? 60-65 is about minimal to light off well. After sitting for that long I would definitely clean the carb and just make sure it is actually flowing correctly before making adjustments. A scooter that old and left sitting for years has a lot of possible gremlins. Eliminating those two variables in that order is good way to start bringing any old engine to life again.

ApriliaNick
08-07-2009, 05:13 AM